• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

    If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

One-Answer WCA Competition and Regulations Question Thread

K2Cubing

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2021
Messages
9
i was looking through the WCA regulations on there site and i was trying to figure out what was a +2 and DNF for clock because i had just got a new one (it was my first and it was a Shensho magnetic) but i could not find anything. can somebody tell me what the regulations are so that when i decide to do the event i know. also do the pins count? like i mean the puzzle isn't in the same position as it was when it was scrambled? so dose that mean it is a penalty or not.





by the way i don't really like solving clock and mine isn't the most joyous to turn but i am just interested on the information.
 

Steve AC

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
58
This will happen to me every now and then. I will mistake a G perm for an A perm for example, dialing in the incorrect pll as fast as I can then drop the cube and stop the timer.

If this was an official WCA 3x3x3 event, what happens now?
 

Llewelys

Member
Joined
May 24, 2019
Messages
198
Location
France
You didn't solve the cube so it's a DNF: this solve and your best one won't count in the ao5.

Let's say you average 25s and you get the following times: 23, 32, 19, 28, 21

If you DNF the 32, nothing changes:
23, (DNF(32)), (19), 28, 21 = 24 ao5

If you DNF the 21, your worst time (32) will count:
23, 32, (19), 28, (DNF(21)) = 27.66 ao5
 

PapaSmurf

Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2018
Messages
942
WCA
2016TUDO02
YouTube
Visit Channel
What everyone has said is exactly right. One more thing to remember is that the regulations aren't method specific - ie. they aren't geared toward CFOP or another method. So if your question is to do with a specific method, just be aware that you won't (or at least shouldn't) get special treatment. As an example: if you're doing Roux and are an M off at the end, that's a DNF even though you're treating Ms as a single move (the WCA uses HTM, where a slice turn is actually 2 outer turn moves).
 

Steve AC

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
58
Thanks everyone for your responses and support. I have another question after everything I have learned so far. What happens if you have 2 or more DNFs in your 5 solves? How is your average calculated?

Also how do you win a competition? Is there two categories for winning, such as best single time of 5, vs best average of 5?
 

Humble Cuber

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
312
Location
Somewhere on Earth
YouTube
Visit Channel
Thanks everyone for your responses and support. I have another question after everything I have learned so far. What happens if you have 2 or more DNFs in your 5 solves? How is your average calculated?

Also how do you win a competition? Is there two categories for winning, such as best single time of 5, vs best average of 5?

1. If 2 or more of your solves are DNFs, it makes your whole average a DNF, because when calculating the average you remove the best and worst times and calculate it using the other 3 times, a DNF would be your worst time in any average, so it get removed, and thats why you still have an average with 1 DNF, but if you have 2 DNFS then its considered a DNF average because even after you remove a DNF as your worst solve, there is still one remaining in the middle 3 times.

2. The winners of a comp are determined by average of 5.
 

CuberStache

Member
Joined
May 7, 2018
Messages
896
Location
Washington State, USA
WCA
2016DAVI02
YouTube
Visit Channel
Thanks everyone for your responses and support. I have another question after everything I have learned so far. What happens if you have 2 or more DNFs in your 5 solves? How is your average calculated?

Also how do you win a competition? Is there two categories for winning, such as best single time of 5, vs best average of 5?
If you get two or more DNFs you get a DNF average, which is basically just an automatic last place

For 3x3 it's based on average of 5 and single doesn't matter, but that's not true for every event. 2x2, 3x3, 4x4, 5x5, one-handed, pyraminx, megaminx, skewb, square-1, and clock are average of 5. 6x6, 7x7, and sometimes FMC (if there are 3 attempts) are mean of 3 (every solve counts rather than dropping best and worst). All blindfolded events (and FMC if there are less than 3 attempts) are best of 3 (sometimes less than 3 for MBLD and FMC) so only your best single is important.
 

Steve AC

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
58
So for 3x3 events, someone could break a world record for a single time, but still lose the competition if someone else has a higher average of 5?
 

Steve AC

Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2021
Messages
58
Everyone keeps asking me whats the fastest time someone solved a Rubik's cube, but idk that information. I range between 18~21 average on a good to bad day. I should know the answer to this stuff, right?
 

Romy4

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2021
Messages
16
What are the rules about getting corner twists or pops in a competition? Do you just put the pieces back or is it a DNF?
 

GenTheThief

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2016
Messages
1,868
Location
Illinois, USA
WCA
2016GEEN01
YouTube
Visit Channel
Article 5 of the regulations covers puzzle defects. I'd suggest that you read the whole thing, both since its pretty short and because any cuber should be pretty familiar with the regulations. Either way, here are the main parts of it:

Regulation section 5b3 covers what you're allowed to do when something happens:
  • 5b3a) If any parts have fallen out or moved out of place, the competitor may place them back.
  • 5b3b) If the competitor repairs the puzzle but finds that the puzzle is unsolvable later during the solve, they may disassemble and reassemble a maximum of 4 pieces to make the puzzle solvable.

Regulation section 5b5 covers what happens if there's still something wrong with the puzzle after you've stopped the solve (at which point you can't touch the puzzle):
  • 5b5) If some parts of the puzzle are physically detached or not fully placed at the end of the solve, the following regulations apply:
    • 5b5a) If one or more parts without colored faces (eg. 4x4 internal pieces) are affected, the puzzle is considered solved.
    • 5b5b) If one part with one colored face (eg. a center cap or a big cube center) is affected, the puzzle is considered solved.
    • 5b5c) If more than one part with one colored face (eg. more than one center piece) is affected, the puzzle is considered unsolved (DNF).
    • 5b5d) If one or more parts with more than one colored face are affected (eg. a corner twist), the puzzle is considered unsolved (DNF).
 
Top