• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 35,000+ people from around the world today!

    If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

[Help Thread] [OFFICIAL] Gan 356i discussion / software updates / issues report

zinzan8

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
70
Hi Zinzan. Thanks for your message. The newest cube station version(Version 2.4.393) already support our user input their own scramble Algorithms.

1#We could find follow these pictures to input our own scramble Algorithms.
View attachment 14742
View attachment 14741
View attachment 14745
View attachment 14746View attachment 14747
After we create our own scramble Algorithms, we could choose it.

2.We could review the solve when CubeStation generates the scramble. But the cube station still not support retry yet and We would communicate with our developers about your suggestion. Thank you so much for your suggestion.
View attachment 14748
View attachment 14749
View attachment 14750
View attachment 14751
@Joann Huang , thank you for your response.

The add custom algorithm doesn't work. There is a turn/move limit in that feature, so if I enter a typical scramble of like 20+ moves, it says it's too long. Part of this may also be because there is no way for me to enter 180 degree turns (e.g. U2, which is registered as U U). I believe slice moves are also registered as two moves (e.g. M is registered as L' R), unless I manually enter the slice move by clicking the slice button, which then puts the cube I am using for input out of sync with the virtual cube on screen.

What would be really great is if I could just cut and paste a scramble string instead of having to enter it by buttons or by using the bluetooth cube. But entering the scramble with the cube would be okay, I suppose, if it worked (didn't get the scramble too long error).

But, even then, I don't like having to Add an Algorithm library just to enter my own scramble. It's very inconvenient, and takes me out of the timer mode I want to practice in. Web apps like Cubeast and cstimer allow manual scramble entry right in the timer mode.
 

Joann Huang

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2020
Messages
57
@Joann Huang , thank you for your response.

The add custom algorithm doesn't work. There is a turn/move limit in that feature, so if I enter a typical scramble of like 20+ moves, it says it's too long. Part of this may also be because there is no way for me to enter 180 degree turns (e.g. U2, which is registered as U U). I believe slice moves are also registered as two moves (e.g. M is registered as L' R), unless I manually enter the slice move by clicking the slice button, which then puts the cube I am using for input out of sync with the virtual cube on screen.

What would be really great is if I could just cut and paste a scramble string instead of having to enter it by buttons or by using the bluetooth cube. But entering the scramble with the cube would be okay, I suppose, if it worked (didn't get the scramble too long error).

But, even then, I don't like having to Add an Algorithm library just to enter my own scramble. It's very inconvenient, and takes me out of the timer mode I want to practice in. Web apps like Cubeast and cstimer allow manual scramble entry right in the timer mode.
Hi @zinzan8
Thanks for your feedback and I already marked it down. I would communicate with the relevant colleagues after our holiday of Chinese New Year.
Thank you for your continued support of GAN CUBE. Have a nice day.
Best,
Joann
 

Joann Huang

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2020
Messages
57
Hi @zinzan8
Thanks for your message and the V 3.0 of Cube Station(Now is V2.4.389) would support more functions as below.
1.The custom algorithm support add more characters( eg U2,F2...) and simply copy and paste our algorithm;
2. Creat the algorithm square, We could share our favorite algorithm and collect the special algorithm;
3.Support Multiplayer match ;
4.Support run chart of the Training ;
More functions would be launched on the Cube Station V3.0, so let's stay tuned!
 

mars28

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
7
Location
Poland
Hi @zinzan8
Thanks for your message and the V 3.0 of Cube Station(Now is V2.4.389) would support more functions as below.
1.The custom algorithm support add more characters( eg U2,F2...) and simply copy and paste our algorithm;
2. Creat the algorithm square, We could share our favorite algorithm and collect the special algorithm;
3.Support Multiplayer match ;
4.Support run chart of the Training ;
More functions would be launched on the Cube Station V3.0, so let's stay tuned!
Glad to see so many new possibilities to configure your own algorithms, especially the addition of double moves. If I could suggest anything else, it would be useful to slightly increase the limit of available moves in the algorithms. I have at least one PLL that I can't add because it's too long.
 

Joann Huang

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2020
Messages
57
Glad to see so many new possibilities to configure your own algorithms, especially the addition of double moves. If I could suggest anything else, it would be useful to slightly increase the limit of available moves in the algorithms. I have at least one PLL that I can't add because it's too long.
Hi @mars28
thanks for your message and any suggestion would be welcomed. I am already marked down your suggestion and share it with the engineer. Hope you like the new version3.0. :)
 

Joann Huang

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2020
Messages
57
Hi, thanks for your feedback, and could you help us to provide the following info to help us fix it?
Your Device
1#iphone/iPad -1)use the Safari of your iPhone/Ipad to visit this website and share the number of UDID to us
2)provide the number of App Version

2#Android-1) the number of App Version 2)Your Device (e.g. HUAWEI Nova 7)
Looking forward to your reply.
 
Last edited:

iBonhomme

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2015
Messages
33
On iOS 14.4, iPhone 7. Deleted the app. Clean install. Works fine.

on Reddit, I reported a bug with the orientation on CMLL training. Another one with method recognition in rank challenge.

and I do not see the friends list.

but great work on the app. A very nice update.
 

Joann Huang

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2020
Messages
57
Same. This software continues to disappoint.

Hi, thanks for your feedback, and could you help us to provide the following info to help us fix it?
Your Device
1#iphone/iPad -1)use the Safari of your iPhone/Ipad to visit this website and share the number of UDID to us
2)provide the number of App Version

2#Android-1) the number of App Version 2)Your Device (e.g. HUAWEI Nova 7)
Looking forward to your reply.
 

zinzan8

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
70
Hi, thanks for your feedback, and could you help us to provide the following info to help us fix it?
Your Device
1#iphone/iPad -1)use the Safari of your iPhone/Ipad to visit this website and share the number of UDID to us
2)provide the number of App Version

2#Android-1) the number of App Version 2)Your Device (e.g. HUAWEI Nova 7)
Looking forward to your reply.
I’m on an iphone 12 mini. IOS 14.4. New CubeStation would just fail to load.

Someone above suggested I delete old app and reinstall. I did so and did make progress.

The software did update after the reinstall to V 3.0.278. Why does it seek permission to find and connect to devices on my network? See image below.

It no longer accepts my yahoo account which used to work and tells me to use gmail. I have tried to register a gmail account on CubeStation, but am still waiting for a verify code. Tried twice. Have waited 15 minutes each time.

Visitor mode appears to work, but I’m tired of messing with it right now, so haven’t really tried it out.

Still continues to disappoint.



PS tried to get UDID for you. But that site is in Chinese!
 
Last edited:

zinzan8

Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2020
Messages
70
Updates. I am now able to login with a gmail account. Just messed around a little. The app is still half in Chinese (though I do have English chosen in settings). Figuring out how to connect to cube and robot were not straight-forward, and timer mode using the robot does not seem to refresh the cube graphic as I solve, just shows that I'm complete when I've solved it. I had created some custom algorithms in the old app, and not sure I can retrieve those anymore.

I'll play with the app some more, but it is still a very messy app.
 

EnochManor

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2021
Messages
20
This is an OFFICIAL THREAD BY GAN for discussions related to the Gan 356i smart cube and its app, Cube Station.

FAQ:
Why do I get a DNF in battle even if I finished first?

  • Sadly, it's because the connection between you and Gan's server is weak. It happens not because of your WiFi speed is slow but rather your distance to China is a bit too far. We have found that the further away you are from China, the more likely you encounter this. According to @Olivertam , Gan 356i's oversea sales manager, they are planning to set up servers in other countries to solve this problem.
Why can’t I connect to my cube?
  • It’s battery is probably empty or dead.
  • If it’s charged for a decent time(1hr+) but still can’t connect, it’s probably some other issues, including not allowing Bluetooth connections on your phone, didn’t charge the cube white side up,etc.
My cube is solved but is misaligned on the screen!
  • Reason: You messed with the numerical GES nuts.
  • Use the "RESET" function in the app to fix it.
My cube is solved but is misoriented on the screen!
  • You can swipe the cube to your orientation at the start of a training or battle.
  • If you missed that chance, reconnect your cube and try again.
Why aren't there anyone to battle with?
  • Sadly, it's probably that no one is online at that time. This problem should gradually go away as more people get the cube.
  • This problem is almost completely gone now.

If you have the 356i and want to practice with others here on speedsolving.com, please post:
  • Your Gan account
  • The method you are using
  • Your global average
Optional↓
  • Your location
  • When you usually have free time in GMT(it's pointless to have a friend that can never battle with you due to different time zones or schedules)
down below and I’ll add it to the list so everyone can know about you and be friends with you.
List of members having 356i:


User name​
Gan account​
Method​
Global Average​
Location​
When he/she has time​
Additional info​
whitefire​
LMCF​
17s​
-​
-​
-​
Wish Lin​
CFOP​
16s​
Taipei, Taiwan​
-​
Thread starter​
Nicoreunion​
CFOP​
16s​
Reunion Island​
-​
-​
Micah Morrison​
CFOP​
8.7s​
-​
-​
-​
Velocicubing​
CFOP​
10.2s​
-​
10~12 AM​
-​
Doc13​
CFOP​
20s​
Kansas, USA​
4:00PM~10:00PM CST​
-​
nonoperez​
CFOP​
45s​
Spain​
-​
-​
Hoshi​
CFOP​
11.5s​
Poland​
-​
-​
Oliver
CFOP
30s
Guangzhou, China
-​
Gan 356i oversea sales manager!!!
iBonhomme​
Roux​
22s​
France​
-​
-​
PingPongCuber​
-​
18s​
Summit City, Colorado​
-​
-​
mbaraty123​
CFOP​
30s​
-​
-​
-​
Oh cool I have a gan 356i too
 

Joann Huang

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2020
Messages
57
Updates. I am now able to login with a gmail account. Just messed around a little. The app is still half in Chinese (though I do have English chosen in settings). Figuring out how to connect to cube and robot were not straight-forward, and timer mode using the robot does not seem to refresh the cube graphic as I solve, just shows that I'm complete when I've solved it. I had created some custom algorithms in the old app, and not sure I can retrieve those anymore.

I'll play with the app some more, but it is still a very messy app.
Hi, The bug which you mention 'and timer mode using the robot does not seem to refresh the cube graphic as I solve, just shows that I'm complete when I've solved it' was already fixed it. At the same time, I have DM you for the bugs in early time. Please check it and Have a nice day.
 

Joann Huang

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2020
Messages
57
found the friend list. but how can I make an invitation for solo matches?
Hi please follow the way and make an invitation for the solo match.
-Match(Home page)-Multiplayer Match-Create Room-Recruiting- all of your friend would receive theInvitation

We could set the number of room, the round of a match, the entry sub of a match, and DNF( How many seconds would be
regarded as DNF after one solved?)
And if we don't want someone to take part in the match, Click the minus of the Avatar, and then he would quit the room.
 
Top