• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

    If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

One-Answer Software Question Thread

xyzzy

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
2,465
Random move scrambles are quicker to generate.
To add on to this: this only matters if you have a very slow computer and want to generate a very large batch of scrambles at once.

(Random-move 444 scrambles have noticeable biases, especially in how the centre pieces are distributed, as only about 1/3 of the moves even break up the centres at all. It's not entirely uncommon for a scramble to just have F2C be almost solved. Never use random-move scrambles if you can help it; if you really have to, set the scramble length to at least 50 moves.)
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2021
Messages
21
Location
Malaysia
WCA
2019NAIR09
I wanted to see my time distribution after reaching 8000 solves but then it was in 5-second groups instead of the usual 2-second ones.I wan to change it back to the way it was. How do I do it?
 

DGCubes

Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2014
Messages
1,750
Location
Over there
WCA
2013GOOD01
YouTube
Visit Channel
Settings -> Tools -> time distribution precision -> 2s

It probably automatically changed to 5s because the range in your times was larger after so many solves, so doing 2s intervals will make the distribution chart a lot taller.
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2021
Messages
21
Location
Malaysia
WCA
2019NAIR09
Settings -> Tools -> time distribution precision -> 2s

It probably automatically changed to 5s because the range in your times was larger after so many solves, so doing 2s intervals will make the distribution chart a lot taller.
Thanks a lot, I wanted it to be 2s because every 1000 solves I like to make a pie chart of of my percentage and improvements.

Btw, huge fan of your "Who Wants To Be A Millionaire" videos.
 

yCArp

Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2021
Messages
14
Location
Nowhere
I am looking for a 2x2 solver that has a similar interface as Cube Explorer (which is only available for 3x3 as far as I know). I will appreciate if the suggested solver does not involve using command prompts or whatsoever as I find it hard to understand them (and as of now still don't).
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2020
Messages
1,899
Location
On a long train journey, Smashin' PBs one a stop
YouTube
Visit Channel
I am looking for a 2x2 solver that has a similar interface as Cube Explorer (which is only available for 3x3 as far as I know). I will appreciate if the suggested solver does not involve using command prompts or whatsoever as I find it hard to understand them (and as of now still don't).
If you ignore edges, you can use Cube Explorer to gen 2x2 algs.
(next to the "Empty" button, you'll find 2 buttons named "C" and "E". "C" ignores corners and "E" ignores edges. for 2x2, choose "E" and lo, you have your solver)
 

Thom S.

Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2017
Messages
503
Is there a cube simulator that features higher order Redi Cubes (Mosaic and up) or Rediminxes?
 

qwr

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
2,587
YouTube
Visit Channel
Hmm. I would be interested too especially because I don't have a redi cube. And also what language would be helpful if you want to code a cube simulation?
If the program is just a simulator it doesn't matter. If it's gonna (pre)compute tables it would be best to do it in a fast language like C++ or Rust.
 

xyzzy

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2015
Messages
2,465
for a random-state scrambler
I mean, what's your desired result?

Are you trying to code a random-state scrambler making use of min2phase.js? In what language? You'll minimally need something that can run JavaScript (like whatever web browser you already have on your computer) and obviously also min2phase.js itself.

Do you just want to get random-state scrambles? You can already use csTimer to generate scrambles in bulk if that's your use case.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2020
Messages
1,899
Location
On a long train journey, Smashin' PBs one a stop
YouTube
Visit Channel
Are you trying to code a random-state scrambler making use of min2phase.js? In what language? You'll minimally need something that can run JavaScript (like whatever web browser you already have on your computer) and obviously also min2phase.js itself.
I'm trying to code a random-state scrambler using min2phase.js in javascript. I've got vscode already.
 

CubeWizard23

Member
Joined
Jul 25, 2014
Messages
427
Location
Wisconsin, USA
WCA
2015GAMB02
YouTube
Visit Channel
Is anyone aware of any projects that use machine learning to reconstruct solves? I've had this idea for a while, and while a big undertaking think there is a huge benefit to having it. Do an ao1000 and have the ML create stats about alg recog, execution etc.
 

qwr

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2019
Messages
2,587
YouTube
Visit Channel
Is anyone aware of any projects that use machine learning to reconstruct solves? I've had this idea for a while, and while a big undertaking think there is a huge benefit to having it. Do an ao1000 and have the ML create stats about alg recog, execution etc.
ML is an extremely broad area. Were you thinking of like computer vision or something?
 
Top