• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 35,000+ people from around the world today!

    If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

[Help Thread] [OFFICIAL] Gan 356i discussion / software updates / issues report

nonoperez

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2019
Messages
43
Can someone living in Europe (or outside China) confirm matching in battles? Matching is almost impossible, and no room for multiplayer either. Try several days at different hours without luck.
I know is a beta, but a lot of work is needed in translation to english, in tutorials, survey, events.

I've been testing algorithm training and F2L only timer training. I find this REALLY useful, great work!
 

nonoperez

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2019
Messages
43
Could you describe this feature in detail?

For example, can you select an alg and have the robot scramble for that say 10x in a row for practice?
Sorry, I don't have the robot. You can practice the algs in the app or add customs, it measures the time it takes to you, and you can repeat it anytime you want.
 

Olivertam

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
96
Location
Guangzhou, China
YouTube
Visit Channel
Matching is almost impossible, and no room for multiplayer either.
I know is a beta, but a lot of work is needed in translation to english, in tutorials, survey, events.

I've been testing algorithm training and F2L only timer training. I find this REALLY useful, great work!
No BOTs in CubeStation now and we observe that sometimes there're not enough users in multiplayer mode(even in China timezone). Whereas we believe as the app gets better optimized the users will grow gradually.
My suggestion will be utilize the training mode at the moment, cause it's really helpful (in my opinion) for practising certain algs! We also plan on activities like giveaway or lucky draw to attract users to multiplayer mode in coming weeks. Let's see what will happen!
At last thank you for your feedback! It's time for me back to work on translation! Check the app update regularly and have a great day!
 

nonoperez

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2019
Messages
43
The app has been updated several times, that's good. My suggestion is if you can add a changelog in the update screen, it will make easier to test new stuff or bug fixes. Other apps developers do it, sometimes the text is just something like "improvements and bug fixes" or "english translations added in survey" but for big changes like "login failed for some users fixed" or " new and more powerful servers added to improve battle for user outside China" will be useful.

Thanks!
 

Wish Lin

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
673
Location
Taipei, Taiwan
WCA
2018LINW02
The app has been updated several times, that's good. My suggestion is if you can add a changelog in the update screen, it will make easier to test new stuff or bug fixes. Other apps developers do it, sometimes the text is just something like "improvements and bug fixes" or "english translations added in survey" but for big changes like "login failed for some users fixed" or " new and more powerful servers added to improve battle for user outside China" will be useful.

Thanks!
@Olivertam I have almost the same idea. It really satisfies customers when they can see an actual improvement, whether small or big.
 

Joël

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2006
Messages
633
Location
3rd rock from the sun
WCA
2004NOOR01
FAQ:
Why do I get a DNF in battle even if I finished first?

  • Sadly, it's because the connection between you and Gan's server is weak. It happens not because of your WiFi speed is slow but rather your distance to China is a bit too far. We have found that the further away you are from China, the more likely you encounter this. According to @Olivertam , Gan 356i's oversea sales manager, they are planning to set up servers in other countries to solve this problem.
Is this still in the pipeline? The battle mode is practically unusable 90% of the time. It's frustrating to get many solves DNF'd, and waiting all the time really kills the flow.
 

RDPearson

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2020
Messages
14
Hi all

I recently bought a GAN 356i V2 bluetooth cube. Rather frustrated with it for 2 reasons.

1. I cant adjust it. The writing on the nut is so tiny that I find it impossible to read even using a large magnifying glass. Also I find it virtually impossible to press this down and turn it at the same time. There is not much space there and there is no tool for it. My main cub (GAN 356XS) is much faster and the 356i I am finding very slow in comparison. My times are nothing great yet (35 - 60 seconds) with a PB of 31.58 but I got the bluetooth cube to try help with drilling algs and work out what I can improve on. I was also told by the place I bought it from to not use any form of lube on a bt cube.
2. Regularly there are moves that are not being registered. I get the solve complete but yet the timer is still running and the graphic shows the cube as incomplete. I use cstimer. This is intermittent. I might do 50 solves where I have no problem, then it might happen for the next 2 or three solves. Very frustrating.

Anybody else having the same issues?

Thanks
Richard
 

SolidJoltBlue

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
16
Hi all

I recently bought a GAN 356i V2 bluetooth cube. Rather frustrated with it for 2 reasons.

1. I cant adjust it. The writing on the nut is so tiny that I find it impossible to read even using a large magnifying glass. Also I find it virtually impossible to press this down and turn it at the same time. There is not much space there and there is no tool for it. My main cub (GAN 356XS) is much faster and the 356i I am finding very slow in comparison. My times are nothing great yet (35 - 60 seconds) with a PB of 31.58 but I got the bluetooth cube to try help with drilling algs and work out what I can improve on. I was also told by the place I bought it from to not use any form of lube on a bt cube.
2. Regularly there are moves that are not being registered. I get the solve complete but yet the timer is still running and the graphic shows the cube as incomplete. I use cstimer. This is intermittent. I might do 50 solves where I have no problem, then it might happen for the next 2 or three solves. Very frustrating.

Anybody else having the same issues?

Thanks
Richard
If the problem occurs during algorithm training, be sure to wait a few seconds after completing the algorithm for the orientation to reset. I have a V1, and that took a minute for me to figure out after I was drilling algs and my cube kept "not registering moves". As for timed solves, I would reset my phone and charge the cube fully and try that, if that doesn't work the best option is to contact Gan or whatever retailer sold you the cube.
 

nonoperez

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2019
Messages
43
Is this still in the pipeline? The battle mode is practically unusable 90% of the time. It's frustrating to get many solves DNF'd, and waiting all the time really kills the flow.
Yep, in my opinion this is the main problem of 356 i, this is the only reason I won't recommend buying the cube if you don't live in China. Gan is doing a big effort in the new app, but without battles it is not worth the 80$ of the cube. My main is a 356 XS, my 356i has been in a drawer for months.
 

RDPearson

Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2020
Messages
14
It is happening just during normal solves. I havent started using it for any drilling as of yet.
Have contacted the retailer who contacted GAN. GAN have just said to do a hard reset but no details on how to do so, so waiting for them to give further details.

Just checking elsewhere apart from them seeing if anybody else has any ideas.
 

mars28

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
4
Location
Poland
I recently bought 356i Play. Unfortunately, for me, the magnets are too weak. I prefer very strong magnets. I would like to replace the magnets with stronger ones, or add additional ones. I can't find a video anywhere on how to disassemble edge pieces and corner pieces. The individual elements sit quite tightly, I would not like to use too much force so as not to damage something. I couldn't even remove the center caps. Have any of you seen any tutorial?
 

Wish Lin

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
673
Location
Taipei, Taiwan
WCA
2018LINW02
I recently bought 356i Play. Unfortunately, for me, the magnets are too weak. I prefer very strong magnets. I would like to replace the magnets with stronger ones, or add additional ones. I can't find a video anywhere on how to disassemble edge pieces and corner pieces. The individual elements sit quite tightly, I would not like to use too much force so as not to damage something. I couldn't even remove the center caps. Have any of you seen any tutorial?
I don’t think replacing the magnets is possible without some breaking into the cube. You just need to use your nail to pick up the center cap. It’s no different from other cubes.
 

mars28

Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2019
Messages
4
Location
Poland
As for the center caps, maybe I have to use a little more force. I'll try.

As for the edge/corner caps, I tried to lift them up with my fingernail, but unfortunately they don't come off easily. I saw that with some cubes, you have to move the caps in the correct direction, otherwise they won't come off.
 

Joël

Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2006
Messages
633
Location
3rd rock from the sun
WCA
2004NOOR01
I always solve white cross and so when it initially tells me to scramble I have to do an X2 to orient it correct. Then if I look at my solve afterwards it doesn't register the X2 and just solves it as though I'm solving cross on top. This isn't good for me to analyse the solve. Anyone got a workaround?

Sent from my CLT-L09 using Tapatalk
What I tried recently:

Swap the white and yellow centercaps, also swap the red and orange centercap. Reset the cube in the app. From now on scramble with green on front and yellow on top. The app will think white is on top.

The cubestate won't match the cube exactly, which is also annoying, but at least the reconstruction will make more sense.
 

Headrick

Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2020
Messages
5
I’m new on here. And to cubing. I have a 356i but I’ve mostly been on The beta v2 version. If your slow, or need some wins to make you feel better, I’m Your man. Lol
Username @Headrick
Cube Station @Headrick
San Diego
I’m sub 30 at best.
 

iBonhomme

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2015
Messages
25
Same thing on ios. I received a notification for an update to version 2.1(5). Since then, it doesn't work anymore.

If I click on the blue one, nothing happens. The progress bar remains stuck at the beginning.

if I click on the yellow one, I go back to https://cubestation.com/zh/download_new/



EDIT :
after several attempts by re-installing the previous version then updated, this morning switch to 2.1.39 without any problem.
 
Last edited:
Top