• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

    If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

[Help Thread] Connecting a Stackmat timer to computer

Skewb_Cube

Member
Joined
May 7, 2020
Messages
311
In some part of video they show how to fix that (it also mentions how to connect a stackmat in different devices)

 

nirmod06

Member
Joined
May 27, 2020
Messages
2
Can GAN356i connected to cstimer on android? If yes, is there a particular browser I should use?
 

Bld_solver

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
8
I am having the same problem. Let me Tell you what happened:

First I bought my 3.5 to 2.5 mm cable and i connected it to the stackmat and my laptop which is windows 10 and an hp pavillion. I watched cyotheking's video and followed it until i came to the problem where i get --:-- and i refreshed it there and it asked me to press OK for connecting to stackmat, i pressed ok and the display again showed the --:-- symbol and it would not start the timer. i checked my sound settings and tested the mic and it seems to be working alright, when the timer is off it does not receive signals and when it is on it receives signals but the only problem is that it does not link with cstimer. Please help me.
 

BenChristman1

Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
2,924
Location
The Land of 11,842 Lakes
WCA
2019CHRI11
YouTube
Visit Channel
I am having the same problem. Let me Tell you what happened:

First I bought my 3.5 to 2.5 mm cable and i connected it to the stackmat and my laptop which is windows 10 and an hp pavillion. I watched cyotheking's video and followed it until i came to the problem where i get --:-- and i refreshed it there and it asked me to press OK for connecting to stackmat, i pressed ok and the display again showed the --:-- symbol and it would not start the timer. i checked my sound settings and tested the mic and it seems to be working alright, when the timer is off it does not receive signals and when it is on it receives signals but the only problem is that it does not link with cstimer. Please help me.
If your audio and microphone is in the same jack, then you will need to buy a splitter. something like this should work, but there are plenty more options if you want to take a look at them. Make sure that when you get this splitter, you plug the 3.5 mm end of the original cord into the microphone side of the splitter.
 

Bld_solver

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
8
If your audio and microphone is in the same jack, then you will need to buy a splitter. something like this should work, but there are plenty more options if you want to take a look at them. Make sure that when you get this splitter, you plug the 3.5 mm end of the original cord into the microphone side of the splitter.
Well see, my microphone input is in one side and my headphones input is beside the mic input do I still require the splitter?

I may not answer immediately as in my time zone it is night so I will answer after 8 hours.
 

BenChristman1

Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
2,924
Location
The Land of 11,842 Lakes
WCA
2019CHRI11
YouTube
Visit Channel
Well see, my microphone input is in one side and my headphones input is beside the mic input do I still require the splitter?

I may not answer immediately as in my time zone it is night so I will answer after 8 hours.
If you plug it into the mic input, it should work. What browser are you using? If you're using Chrome, then try opening csTimer in a new tab, then it should ask for permission to use your microphone.
 

Bld_solver

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
8
If you plug it into the mic input, it should work. What browser are you using? If you're using Chrome, then try opening csTimer in a new tab, then it should ask for permission to use your microphone.
it is plugged in to the mic input only and i use chrome with the secure version of cstimer and it still doesn't work even though i tested the stackmat and if on, the laptop gets the signal but the thing is this does not work with cstimer.
 

Bld_solver

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
8
hey, you all i just noticed something and wanted to ask if this is ok, I just tested my stackmat mic input and when i turn on the timer the testing bar goes up and stays there even when i start the timer is this ok and just to make you understand better i recorded me testing the mic.

 

SH03L4C3

Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2020
Messages
1,049
Location
The orange centerpiece from your main 3x3
hey, you all i just noticed something and wanted to ask if this is ok, I just tested my stackmat mic input and when i turn on the timer the testing bar goes up and stays there even when i start the timer is this ok and just to make you understand better i recorded me testing the mic.

that's good, that is what I showed in the video too
I am on laptop.
it does not matter, it is still windows 10 so the process should be the same
 
Top