• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 35,000+ people from around the world today!

    If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

Nano Timer, Android speedcubing timer

NanoTimer

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
36
Sorry about that, blame my phone. Just curious, why don't you want to release the source?
I guess because it's a brand new project, I didn't really consider the question and its implications yet. And also because I'm planning to create a paying "Pro" version for those who really like my app, with additional functionalities, server synchronization etc. I'm reserving the right to release the free version code at a later point because I don't have any real reason to do it now.
 

NanoTimer

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
36
Can you add a BLD solve type under the 3x3-5x5 cubes?
I think i will add that more clearly to the OP, but you can define your own solve types already! :) It's even one of the main things that make this app different. Just go in Options (from the main screen with the history, hit the "menu" key, and select "Options"). There you can click on "Edit solve types". Select your cube type and you're good to go!
You can add as many as you want, remove the default ones you don't use, add custom steps, or even remove all solve types for a cube type if you don't want to show that cube type in the list (the cube types that don't have any solve types won't appear in the main screen).
 

BboyArchon

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2014
Messages
140
Location
Madrid
WCA
2010OREL02
YouTube
malcom91
Give you 5 stars on the PlayStore. Great job with the timer I really like it

Edit: 25 moves on pyraminx/skewb is too long. Also I recommend placing the lower case <r u b l> for pyraminx tips at the end as usual. Also, add the blind modes for 3x 4x and 5x. Maybe also 2x just for fun.
 
Last edited:

Lucas Garron

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2007
Messages
3,557
Location
California
WCA
2006GARR01
YouTube
LucasGarron
25 random should be sufficient for an mobil app. I don't see any need for 2-3 move shorter random state scrambles.
This isn't about scramble length.

People shouldn't be writing their own mediocre scrambles when others have spent a long time thinking about how to generate proper scrambles *and have made their code available for others to use*. Given that there are enough good timers that use decent scrambles, I would never recommend anyone use a timer with its own (clueless) custom scrambles.
 

jfly

Member
Joined
Aug 23, 2008
Messages
226
Location
California
WCA
2005FLEI01
YouTube
jflysohigh
This isn't about scramble length.

People shouldn't be writing their own mediocre scrambles when others have spent a long time thinking about how to generate proper scrambles *and have made their code available for others to use*. Given that there are enough good timers that use decent scrambles, I would never recommend anyone use a timer with its own (clueless) custom scrambles.
Agreed. Anyone reading this thread should consider using plusTimer instead =). While the scrambles it produces are not official, they are generated in the exact same way that official scrambles are generated.
 

NanoTimer

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
36
This isn't about scramble length.

People shouldn't be writing their own mediocre scrambles when others have spent a long time thinking about how to generate proper scrambles *and have made their code available for others to use*. Given that there are enough good timers that use decent scrambles, I would never recommend anyone use a timer with its own (clueless) custom scrambles.
Hi Lucas,

I understand you point on this.
However, you have to admit that these random scrambles (and by that i mean scrambles with random moves) have been used for a very long time in championships. Most timers still use this scramble type. So while i agree that these are not truly optimal, they can still be used for normal practice. Many people also use hand scrambling and that does not make them worse at cubing.

Please keep in mind that this is only the very first version of my app. I've spent a lot of time on some of its features, and I'm planning to keep investing more time to add a lot more.
I don't think you should judge only based on its scramble generation, specially as you haven't tried it, as Nano Timer is a timer before all, not a scrambler.

That being said, I read about random state generation algorithms, the theory behind it and the algorithm itself is very interesting and I am planning to include it in a next release, so that will not be a problem anymore.
 
Last edited:

NanoTimer

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
36
I just released version 1.0.1. Not some huge changes, but a few improvements here and there:
- Changed session times grid order (the latest time is now in the top-left cell)
- Reduced length of pyraminx and skewb scrambles from 25 to 20
- Pyraminx corner moves are now at the end of the scramble
- Minor GUI improvements

Next to come is the export of history times by mail, with selection per cube type, solve type, or for the whole history. And after that, the random-state scramble generator for 2x2, 3x3 and Square-1.
 

Chenkar

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2014
Messages
55
This timer looks very promising! I don't mind the ads, because I'm off of wifi most of the time. One suggestion would be to be able to customize the "Solve Type" section, because not all of us use CFOP.
 

NanoTimer

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
36
This timer looks very promising! I don't mind the ads, because I'm off of wifi most of the time. One suggestion would be to be able to customize the "Solve Type" section, because not all of us use CFOP.
You can edit solve types, add yours, remove CFOP or add your own steps if you want. CFOP is just the default one to show how it works and because most people use that.
It's all in the options screen (open menu from main screen and select options). There's a "solve types" section there.
 

Chenkar

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2014
Messages
55
You can edit solve types, add yours, remove CFOP or add your own steps if you want. CFOP is just the default one to show how it works and because most people use that.
It's all in the options screen (open menu from main screen and select options). There's a "solve types" section there.
Oh, I guess this is what happens when one doesn't read the whole post before commenting Lol. I'll go try that out
Lol just read the whole thread, and you answered my question twice before. Maybe you could include it in the original post so you don't get asked again... Now I just got to figure how to have the inspection without my hand on the timer...
 
Last edited:

NanoTimer

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
36
Oh, I guess this is what happens when one doesn't read the whole post before commenting Lol. I'll go try that out
Lol just read the whole thread, and you answered my question twice before. Maybe you could include it in the original post so you don't get asked again... Now I just got to figure how to have the inspection without my hand on the timer...
Yes a few persons already asked about this. I already added it to the OP (not the procedure, but the fact that it's possible to do it) after the second request :)
I'm planning to make it clearer in my app by adding a special "Add more solve types" line in the solve types selection dialog to directly link to the page to edit them. That way people will not be able to miss it. An option will also be added to hide that line for those who don't want to see it (still accessible via the options anyway).
 

Chenkar

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2014
Messages
55
Yes a few persons already asked about this. I already added it to the OP (not the procedure, but the fact that it's possible to do it) after the second request :)
I'm planning to make it clearer in my app by adding a special "Add more solve types" line in the solve types selection dialog to directly link to the page to edit them. That way people will not be able to miss it. An option will also be added to hide that line for those who don't want to see it (still accessible via the options anyway).
Good idea. How would you recommend using the steps part, like stopping the timer for a step. Wouldn't it ruin your lookahead?
 

NanoTimer

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
36
Good idea. How would you recommend using the steps part, like stopping the timer for a step. Wouldn't it ruin your lookahead?
When i use the steps timer i generally have my phone laying on the table in front of me and i cube next to it (like slightly above) and then i simply push anywhere on the screen at the end of each step. You don't really need to look at the phone for that as you can click anywhere on the screen and it will work. The times with steps might be slightly slower due to the time it takes to move your hand to the phone, but i don't think the difference is that big. And you have to do it for each step anyway, so the additional time is balanced among them.
 

Chenkar

Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2014
Messages
55
When i use the steps timer i generally have my phone laying on the table in front of me and i cube next to it (like slightly above) and then i simply push anywhere on the screen at the end of each step. You don't really need to look at the phone for that as you can click anywhere on the screen and it will work. The times with steps might be slightly slower due to the time it takes to move your hand to the phone, but i don't think the difference is that big. And you have to do it for each step anyway, so the additional time is balanced among them.
Ok makes sense... nanotimer is now one of my main timers
 

Jakube

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
790
Location
Austria
WCA
2011KOGL01
YouTube
JakubeBLD
I would be great, if you can't immediately start the next solve after stopping. I have to delete a lot of solves, because I sometimes stop with two fingers and the second one accidentally starts a new solve.
 

NanoTimer

Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2014
Messages
36
Ok makes sense... nanotimer is now one of my main timers
I'm glad to hear that :)

I would be great, if you can't immediately start the next solve after stopping. I have to delete a lot of solves, because I sometimes stop with two fingers and the second one accidentally starts a new solve.
Sure, i just tested and i can see how that could happen. I'll add that to next release.
In the mean time, maybe you already noticed, but you can use the "back" button while it is timing to just cancel the current solve (that time will not be saved). So if you start a solve by accident, just press back. That way you won't have to delete it manually.
If a wrong time is saved you can also use the "menu" key to display the menu to do Delete on the latest time (as well as +2/DNF). It's a shortcut, instead of going back to the previous screen and clicking on the history line.
 
Top