• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 35,000+ people from around the world today!

    If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

[Help Thread] Connecting a Stackmat timer to computer

drewmn2000

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
4
Location
Boston, MA
WCA
2012NOLA01
YouTube
drewmn2000
Things to know:
  • I'm running Mac OS X 10.10.3 (Yosemite)
  • I have a StackMat Pro that I'd like to connect.
  • I have the proper cable and adapter to do it - Yes, it's in the input slot, not the output slot. Yes, the computer is picking up the signal.
  • I use Prisma Puzzle Timer, although I have tried getting the timer to work with other timers (qqTimer, CCT) and it doesn't work there either.
Any help would be greatly appreciated. When I connect it, the timers simply don't pick anything up. They remain at 0:00.00 no matter what I do with the timer.
 

primarycuber

Member
Joined
Aug 22, 2014
Messages
49
I have a non-apple computer, but maybe this could still help: the stackmat connection only works for me if I don't push the cable fully into the computer slot (plug it in, then pull it out a bit until it feels tight again), you can try experimenting with that...
 

pdilla

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2009
Messages
811
Location
Salem, Oregon
I have OSX 10.6.8 (I know...) and it works fine for me...

Set all the settings correctly?

Also, try getting one of these:


It may be too late, but try asking the dude at Radioshack for a 2.5mm male to 3.5mm male cable. It's a lot more simple of a setup than a cable with a bulky adapter sticking out 3 inches of the bottom of your timer.
 

Laura O

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2009
Messages
289
Location
Germany
WCA
2009OHRN01
YouTube
LauraCubing
What kind of Mac are you using?
I had do switch off the output on my MacBook Air, which has a combined input/output port.

However, I remember I had some trouble using it with PPT and it was more or less trial&error until I found the right input level.
Did you try csTimer? That worked a lot better for me.
 

drewmn2000

Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2012
Messages
4
Location
Boston, MA
WCA
2012NOLA01
YouTube
drewmn2000
I have OSX 10.6.8 (I know...) and it works fine for me...

Set all the settings correctly?

Also, try getting one of these:
http://i60.tinypic.com/2u7ltsz.jpg

It may be too late, but try asking the dude at Radioshack for a 2.5mm male to 3.5mm male cable. It's a lot more simple of a setup than a cable with a bulky adapter sticking out 3 inches of the bottom of your timer.
I have one of those. I'm using it. Yes, the settings are set correctly. Doesn't work with csTimer either.

It doesn't work with csTimer. And yes, the settings are all correct. I already have one of those cords, and I'm using it, and it still doesn't work.

What kind of Mac are you using?
I had do switch off the output on my MacBook Air, which has a combined input/output port.

However, I remember I had some trouble using it with PPT and it was more or less trial&error until I found the right input level.
Did you try csTimer? That worked a lot better for me.
Doesn't work with csTimer. Also, I have a MacBook Air as well.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

kunparekh18

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2012
Messages
1,415
Location
Chennai
WCA
2013PARE01
YouTube
KunParekh18
Hey, sorry for bumping this thread, but really need help.

My stackmat pro timer works excellently with Methuselah96's Prisma puzzle timer mod and with CCT. However, I just can't get it to work with cstimer.net. Has anyone here managed to successfully use the timer with cstimer.net? I use Windows 8 64 bit. If you got it to work, what microphone drivers are you using? I first had the IDT ones, but the timer didn't work with them, and so I replaced them with the stock windows ones.
 

Bhargav777

OH friendly please
Joined
Dec 26, 2010
Messages
650
Location
Chennai, India
WCA
2011NARA02
YouTube
Bhargav7771
Hey, sorry for bumping this thread, but really need help.

My stackmat pro timer works excellently with Methuselah96's Prisma puzzle timer mod and with CCT. However, I just can't get it to work with cstimer.net. Has anyone here managed to successfully use the timer with cstimer.net? I use Windows 8 64 bit. If you got it to work, what microphone drivers are you using? I first had the IDT ones, but the timer didn't work with them, and so I replaced them with the stock windows ones.
Same here! Would be nice if someone could help us.

Edit : back on the forums! :)
 

AustinReed

Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2010
Messages
1,295
Location
Tucson, Arizona
WCA
2011REED01
YouTube
CubeKick
I'm having an issue. So I plug my timer in and everything. When I go to check the audio levels in System Preferences, even with the input volume set all the way up, the computer doesn't really detect much noise. Is this a cable issue? I've had these cables for a while and feel that it could be part of the issue.
 

MoyuFTW

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
381
Location
Australia
WCA
2015LEEA05
I just recently purchased a QJ timer at the Perth Winter 2015 competition. It came with a cable but will not connect to prisma puzzle timer. Is there any way to connect it? Possibly to other timers? Has anyone got it working, and if so how did they do it? I would like to get it working together with my computer. I'm using a macbook pro, late 2013 if it matters.
 

Myachii

Member
Joined
May 24, 2014
Messages
884
Location
England
WCA
2013MORR03
YouTube
UCX4LzNj0n6Pq1VfAjg
Prisma Puzzle Timer doesn'lt support QJ timers, only Stackmats.
However, CSTimer does support QJ Timers, all you have to do is click the "Option" button, then "Timer", then select the drop-down that says "Enter times using:" and select "Stackmat".

Make sure the timer is plugged into your microphone jack on the side of your PC. If you don't have one, you can buy a USB microphone + earphone jack from Amazon for very cheap.
 

rubikmaster

Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2011
Messages
486
Location
Croatia
WCA
2011JANE01
YouTube
SpeedcubingTV
It just so happens that a video about that came out on my collab channel a couple days ago. It's with a Stackmat Timer though, but I think it's works for QJ Timer as well. Hope it helps you out.

 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top