SpeedCubingLord
Veteran
How do some people such as @Mr.Ducky use and talk on the forums as guests with no profile and the word guest under their name, whilst if i visit the website without logging in I cannot reply? I didnt understand this mechanic.
Follow along with the video below to see how to install our site as a web app on your home screen.
Note: This feature may not be available in some browsers.
no, mr.ducky is still active here he posts as a guest. deleted memebrs have deleted memeber followed by a number as their display nameDoesn’t that mean they deleted their account?
It takes like 5 mins.to make an.account.no, mr.ducky is still active here he posts as a guest. deleted memebrs have deleted memeber followed by a number as their display
Yes, it does, but takes a while for it to be approved and have no checks for rule-violating messages when you first join.It takes like 5 mins.to make an.account.
He was. #freeclockI thought mr ducky was a member
You must be a member to post. Mr Ducky requested to delete his account, hence why it shows that. Only 1 account is allowed and no additional accounts can be made, so when you delete your account, you are permanently out of the community.How do some people such as @Mr.Ducky use and talk on the forums as guests with no profile and the word guest under their name, whilst if i visit the website without logging in I cannot reply? I didnt understand this mechanic.
WOAH! I didn't know that! That is rather sad. Is there a reason why this rule is in place?So when you delete your account, you are permanently out of the community.
Just out of curiosity: can someone later ask to reactivate their account, if they change their mind? Being "permanently out of the community" sounds rather harsh.You must be a member to post. Mr Ducky requested to delete his account, hence why it shows that. Only 1 account is allowed and no additional accounts can be made, so when you delete your account, you are permanently out of the community.
How would they ask, though?? Maybe email?Just out of curiosity: can someone later ask to reactivate their account, if they change their mind? Being "permanently out of the community" sounds rather harsh.
No, you can't. Once deleted it is done and not reversible. You shouldn't ever delete your account unless you really want to. You can easily leave it sitting idle and use it at future date. It rakes time to the delete the account and don't want to be doing it often.Just out of curiosity: can someone later ask to reactivate their account, if they change their mind? Being "permanently out of the community" sounds rather harsh.
No, you can't. Once deleted it is done and not reversible. You shouldn't ever delete your account unless you really want to. You can easily leave it sitting idle and use it at future date. It rakes time to the delete the account and don't want to be doing it often.
I wouldn’t call that a community thenYou must be a member to post. Mr Ducky requested to delete his account, hence why it shows that. Only 1 account is allowed and no additional accounts can be made, so when you delete your account, you are permanently out of the community.
Is there no way you can sort of erase them from the system ?Anyone is welcome to the community. If we allow members to delete and recreate, we end up with thousands of duplicate accounts. After 21 years of running the community, we implemented this rule for a reason.
Yep, another reason we don't want to be deleting members regularly. If you don't want your account, just leave it idle.Is there no way you can sort of erase them from the system ?
Then again, that could result in posts - potentially useful ones - being deleted, no ?
No, you can't. Once deleted it is done and not reversible.
Anyone is welcome to the community.
Very fair. My only objection is: what if my sibling deleted it as a prank or something? (My siblings are really mean sometimes...Yep, another reason we don't want to be deleting members regularly. If you don't want your account, just leave it idle.
I think that they shouldn't be able to make an account at all for a year, and then maybe they can come back, but as @pjk said, "If we allow members to delete and recreate, we end up with thousands of duplicate accounts. After 21 years of running the community, we implemented this rule for a reason. Don't delete your account if you want to remain a member here. Don't give the moderators more work than we already have; we're all volunteers here." These are good and valid reasons.There is a contradiction here. Anyone is welcome to the community, except if you left once. Then you're not.
I understand that you try to prevent people from deleting/remaking accounts all the time. But people change over years. Communities change over years. Someone might want to come back, realizing it was a stupid mistake. And not allowing them back is just... It's just plain wrong.
People can also legally change their name in real life, and that's perfectly fine. And what keeps most of us not to do it constantly? Because it has a cost.
So how about a compromise: one can come back (or make a new account as an exception, if the previous one was indeed deleted), but they cannot post for 3 months (or some other amount of time), or in any other way their activity is limited for a finite period. This discourages most of the members to delete their account; but if someone truly wants to go through the process, at least they have a chance.
Even if there is a possibility that such a comeback might never happen, I would definitely sleep better.