• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

[Member Intro] Cubing noob?

sly_ari

Hi everyone, I'm Ari and I'm new to this forum and I've been cubing for less than a year. I use the Roux method and I hope to see more people here contributing to the Rouxvolution!
I'm an American high school student who was taught the beginner's method by one of my teachers in October 2018. I later switched to Roux in February. My main cube right now is a Valk 3, alternating with a Little Magic when I get tired of relubing my Valk lol (Martian dries up so quick on it).

My current average for 3x3 is sub 25. My PB is 18.23
I'd love to have an average of sub 20 by the end of the year.

Last edited:

ZadenDS

Hey! I'm a new cuber as of beginning of the month, I use Roux as well, I average about 1:19, but I can't seem to get faster, I've memorized CMLL but my block building takes about 50 second's of my solve, any tips?
Edit: My main right now is the QuYi ThunderClap

AbsoRuud

WCA
2019POLL04
YouTube
Visit Channel
Take your time to solve blocks. Make sure you don't take more than 10-15 moves for the first block and 15-20 moves for the second block. You can work on lowering that later. Try to know where your second pair of your first block ends up when you solve the first pair. Then keep track of the DR piece while you solve the second pair of the first block, and so on. It's important to pause as little as possible. Pausing takes up much more time than you think.

Use the M slices when necessary, but use R and Rw moves wherever possible.

ZadenDS