• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

[Member Intro] Aglet's intro

YouTube
Visit Channel
Hi all, I'm Francie, 34, my other hobby is spinning yarn, so I suppose I just like things that twist.

I'm pretty new to cubing... actually I could work out exactly how new because I bought an old Rubik's cube at a vintage store the morning before Sydney (Australia) went into our current lockdown, and with plenty of time on my hands, things escalated quickly from there (yes, I have a better cube now).

I'm sub 1 minute, though at the moment I'm more interested in learning new things (currently working on full PLL) and practicing, rather than doing many timed solves. I'm really enjoying learning more about cubing and also tackling different shapemodes (I just solved my axis cube for the first time, and am eyeing my ghost cube suspiciously).

It's been particularly interesting getting into cubing as someone with dyslexia. I do struggle with keeping track of clockwise and counterclockwise, and have found cubing notation very difficult. I've ended up translating algorithms to my own notation using unicode arrows, which I'm quite pleased with. But my goal is to be able to follow standard notation.

I'm looking forward to learning and sharing here.

Dan the Beginner

Premium Member
Welcome! This place is amazing. I am a slow learner and slower turner, averaging just over 1 min after 5 months practising just the 3x3. I struggle especially bad when I have to learn large number of algorithms. I'm 75. However I think the cube is great as a pastime at this time. Enjoy your visits here.