• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 35,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

When is a cube "Dead"?

Thread starter #1
I have a GTS2M which I've had for two years, and the performance isn't as amazing as it once was. I was wondering when the right time to buy a new cube was, and how I could tell if my cube was "Dead"

Thanks in advance :)

I have no experience of dead cubes. I also have a GtS2M i got a month ago, and I don't feel like its deteriorationg. By dead, do you mean turns slower, can't corner ut as well, catchs more, etc?

Thread starter #6
I have no experience of dead cubes. I also have a GtS2M i got a month ago, and I don't feel like its deteriorationg. By dead, do you mean turns slower, can't corner ut as well, catchs more, etc?
It locks up a lot, isn't very smooth, corner-cutting is very poor, locks up a lot, and it's very slow.

It locks up a lot, isn't very smooth, corner-cutting is very poor, locks up a lot, and it's very slow.
Thats sad. Disassemble the cube and have a look at the interior. There may be something wrong inside. Check the tensions as well, possibly the tensions somehow changed as you cubed for 2 years, slowly turning the screws until it’s too tight. Once I had a small rock inside my cube, and it made a horrible rattling noise every time I turned, until I disassembled, and it fell out.

If that doesn’t work, maybe it’s time for a new cube.

WCA
2018TRUD02
I have a GTS2M which I've had for two years, and the performance isn't as amazing as it once was. I was wondering when the right time to buy a new cube was, and how I could tell if my cube was "Dead"

Thanks in advance :)