• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

UK University Cubing Societies (Notts)

ryanj92

WCA
2012JONE03
YouTube
Visit Channel
Hey,
I am a student at the University of Nottingham, and for the past few months I've been toying about with the idea of setting up a Rubik's cube/twisty puzzles society. I wondered if anybody's done this before, and how it went down with the Student's Union, how many people were interested, etc.
Just looking for some general pointers and ideas really.

The ultimate aim is to be able to host a competition, seeing as UK tournaments anywhere above London up seem to be non-existent!

Thanks,
Ryan

(If we have any UoN-based cubers who'd be interested in helping me get this idea off the ground, then please let me know!)

Robert-Y

WCA
2009YAUR01
YouTube
Visit Channel
Hi Ryan,

I was also thinking about doing this, but I didn't want to set it up alone. I've been a student for almost two years. I'm pretty sure there wasn't a society last year. I've never set up a society before but I would sure like to help. Hopefully I wont be too busy with exam revision. I've met random people from the magic society who can solve a rubik's cube, or are partly interested in twisty puzzles. I'm sure there will be plenty of people who would be willing to join the society.

samehsameh

Why are they called societies in the UK (as opposed to clubs in the US)?
Why not? Its our language you ruined it.