• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

Trying to understand this lube better.

Gerry

Hey all, Beginner here, and I'm using Cubing Out Loud's Saxophone lube. Found here.

Question 1: Feels sticky at first then that goes away after a few solves. Is it drying out that fast, or is that breaking it in? It's listed as a silicone lube.

Question 2: I'm new and my turns are going to be slow no matter what, does it matter what I use, as long as I use lube? Within reason I mean, lubes that are meant for cubes. (Silicone on any piece, water away from metal etc)

I'm trying to figure out if I need to buy more than just the Saxophone. I'm ordering from there already, and they don't have the better known lubes, and I'm trying to avoid ordering from a second store just for lubes. The shipping drives the price up so much. I don't want to ruin the cubes, so I'd rather make that extra order if needed to save the cubes.

Question 3; Does anyone know if there are any direct comparisons from each of the Loud Lubes to other known lubes? I see lots of descriptions for other lubes, but not much on the Loud Lubes.

TL:DR In theory, can I achieve the feel of any lube by mixing these silicone lubes, and is it safe in the long run for the cubes? (I'm reading difference things about melting plastic and I don't understand the difference, my english is terrible.)

Thanks!

Reactions: qwr

qwr

YouTube
Visit Channel
Yeah silicone will be sticky and gummy immediately after putting it in, but will smooth out a lot after a few turns. As long as you don't overdo it.