• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 35,000+ people from around the world today!

    If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

[Help Thread] Speed Stacks Gen 4 Timer Glitch

Joined
Feb 21, 2019
Messages
1
So, whenever I manage to connect my gen 4 timer to my computer, about half of the time it glitches out and stops at 0.005 seconds (or somewhere around that time) when I start it. I tried changing the batteries, but that didn't work. I also tried messing around with the settings on my computer, but that didn't work either. Anyone know how to fix this?
 

semiprime799

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2020
Messages
10
Location
The Pacific Ocean
I hooked up my Stackmat as an input to audacity. It just shows clipping all over the place, maybe this has something to do with it?

I tried changing my audio input levels and it didn't seem to help very much though.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2015
Messages
6
Location
Los Angeles, California, United States
WCA
2009GRIG01
This is likely due to the fact that many Mac computers will have an Aux port that is wired to both Headphones and a Microphone. Your Aux port has to be made specifically for a microphone
I am using an HP laptop which doesn't have both so I have to use a usb adapter that has both inputs and I plug the wire into the microphone slot. This is what I use: https://www.amazon.com/Plugable-Headphone-Microphone-Aluminum-Compatible/dp/B00NMXY2MO

This is likely true and an actual PC with a dedicated microphone port may fix it but I'm not buying one anytime soon. Maybe it's the adapter?


So this is a problem with the timer itself? Because i was considerimg buying the cable on TheCubicle after one from ebay didn't work
I don't think it is the timer itself because it works perfectly fine if I use it without the wire and enter the times manually. I know now that its not the wire either, because I tried multiple and the problem was the same.


I hooked up my Stackmat as an input to audacity. It just shows clipping all over the place, maybe this has something to do with it?

I tried changing my audio input levels and it didn't seem to help very much though.
I just tried this too but I'm honestly not sure what It's supposed to sound/look like. I can't find much information about this anywhere.



I'm entering times in manually until I can figure this out like the monkey league participants apparently have.
 

semiprime799

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2020
Messages
10
Location
The Pacific Ocean
This is likely due to the fact that many Mac computers will have an Aux port that is wired to both Headphones and a Microphone. Your Aux port has to be made specifically for a microphone
I myself run an old windows 10 laptop for keeping track of times. But, I post on a mac. I don't plugin directly through an audio port because I was not blessed with a separate aux in. So, I ended up using a USB audio converter dongle + a random 2.5 mm to 3.5mm cable.

I have the same problem too and am wondering the same thing.
 

ProStar

Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2019
Messages
4,074
Location
An uncolonized sector of the planet Mars
WCA
2020MAHO01
I myself run an old windows 10 laptop for keeping track of times. But, I post on a mac. I don't plugin directly through an audio port because I was not blessed with a separate aux in. So, I ended up using a USB audio converter dongle + a random 2.5 mm to 3.5mm cable.

I have the same problem too and am wondering the same thing.
Check out the output cable(the part plugged into the timer), there should be 2 silver bands around it. If there's 3, that cable won't work
 

I'm A Cuber

Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2020
Messages
319
Top