• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 35,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

QiDi: Old style 2x2 feel?

qwr

To preface, I'm a complete beginner at 2x2... I have three 2x2s, all budget cubes: QiYi QiDi (edit: NOT QiDi S), YuXin Little Magic 2x2, and YJ YuPo.

Is it weird that I prefer the loud clacky heavy but smooth feel of the QiDi over the lighter but less smooth little magic 2x2 and soft plastic magnetic YuPo? The YuPo has really nice glossy plastic for a budget puzzle and corner cuts better than the QiDi, but somehow the QiDi's heavy thick black plastic that Qiyi uses on their puzzles and having no magnetic bump at all is more satisfying to turn.

I have a huge 60mm 2x2 from a decade ago that lacks any kind of corner cutting and uses the Rubik's 2x2 mechanism but it still turns extremely smoothly and feels nice and solid. Maybe it's a trait of older 2x2s since newer 2x2s like the GAN 251 (I tried my friend's) are getting smaller and lighter (probably good for TPS)

Last edited:

CodingCuber

WCA
2019HERR14
To preface, I'm a complete beginner at 2x2... I have three 2x2s, all budget cubes: QiYi QiDi (edit: NOT QiDi S), YuXin Little Magic 2x2, and YJ YuPo.

Is it weird that I prefer the loud clacky heavy but smooth feel of the QiDi over the lighter but less smooth little magic 2x2 and soft plastic magnetic YuPo? The YuPo has really nice glossy plastic for a budget puzzle and corner cuts better than the QiDi, but somehow the QiDi's heavy thick black plastic that Qiyi uses on their puzzles and having no magnetic bump at all is more satisfying to turn.