• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

Noobie's quick guide to solving the Rubik's Cube

andrewgk

http://img25.imageshack.us/f/sinstructionsv2.jpg/

First off I want to say that I'm not a pro cuber what so ever. I'm completely new to cubing and this is a guide that I've been writing over the past three days (I've only been cubing for the past three days). As I've looked around, I couldn't really find a compact guide, all of them were strewn across many pages and explained things quite complexly. I made this guide mostly for me, but I thought it might be helpful to other people. It's made to be pretty compact. My friend showed me all these algorithms (Stephen Lane) and I took the time to write/rewrite this (Andrew Genkuong). I hope someone can use this and hopefully it helps. If it doesn't and the guide is a piece of crap, I'm sorry.

Notes:
It's assumed that you can get the cross and the corners of the first layer.
Lines on top of a cube mean that the side that the line is on has the same color as the side you're on.
Step 5, last figure. The lines on each part of the cube mean that the corners are matching on each side.
I know theres a correct name for some of these steps (OOL PLL) but I have no idea what they are.

If you have any suggestions, I would really like your input. Feel free to comment below, even if this guide is crap. If anything, you can just use it for the algorithms. Please do not try to sell this guide, as I personally wrote it. Also please do not take credit for the guide, as I personally wrote it.