• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

Me and my V-Cube 3

Allu K5

I am relatively new to speedcubing and i just learned 4LLL and started to practice F2L. I average sub 45.

My main is a V-Cube 3 and I use CRC silicone spray. I have tensioned it and its very well broken in. It cuts 45 degrees, and a lil bit of reverse corner cut.

I am thinking about getting few better cubes, like Gans 3 or Zhanchi, but the question is, will i notice a lot of difference after starting to use a "real" speedcube? Will my times noticeably rise?

Thanks in advance!

pipkiksass

YouTube
Visit Channel
Will my times noticeably rise?

I'd hope the opposite would be true! ;-)

Some folks say get an intermediate cube, such as a Guhong 2 or a Shengshou Wind/Aurora, but personally I'd say go for a Zhanchi or Weilong. Either are capable of producing a sub-8 average, so unless you're intending to be significantly faster than that, I'd plumb for one of those two.

Some people rave about the Gans, or Cyoubix Maru cube, but I'm not qualified to comment on either, as I don't own one.

Short answer: YES, you will notice a difference. There may be a small reduction in times, but cubes don't make you improve, practice makes you improve!

Welcome to the forums.

rj

WCA
2015PLAT03
YouTube
Visit Channel
I am relatively new to speedcubing and i just learned 4LLL and started to practice F2L. I average sub 45.

My main is a V-Cube 3 and I use CRC silicone spray. I have tensioned it and its very well broken in. It cuts 45 degrees, and a lil bit of reverse corner cut.