• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 35,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

In need of suggestions/tips

zottey

YouTube
ilikebaseball10
Ok so i've been cubing for a few months now.I am totally hooked. i'm learning Fridrich and i've got pll/oll down great. but f2l is giving the most trouble. it slows me down sooo much. i think it takes me around 35-40 seconds just to finish fridrich f2l. it takes me 25-30 using plain beginners f2l. im averaging about 45 seconds and my pb is 34. any tips? thanks a lot.

bundat

I suggest you count how many moves it takes you to do Cross+F2L.
You should ALWAYS be able to do the cross in less than or at most 8 moves.
Each F2L pair can be solved at an average of 7 moves.

That would give an average of 36 moves for the F2L (I personally go below 30 moves around 2 out of 5 solves, and I never cross the 40-move mark anymore).

If you turn 1 face each second (which is incredibly slow, non-cubers and beginners turn faster than this), that's 36 seconds for the entire F2L.

2 turns per second (TPS), which is still incredibly slow, would already be less than 20 seconds for the entire F2L. Make it 25 if you pause 1 second after the cross and each pair (which is already quite long).
But judging from your average, your turn speed is quite fast as your LL is less than 10 seconds (you could probably hit 5-6 TPS on your best and fastest algs).

And 5 TPS (a turn speed that you seemingly can reach) combined with a 36 move F2L, would be less than 8 seconds (ignoring pauses due to lack of look-ahead, of course).

So count your moves.