• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 35,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

How does one figure out how to solve a puzzle?

Thread starter #1
I am new to cubing in general. Most of the cubes I own solve like a 3 x 3 or something pretty similar. The only cube I have that has a fairly different structure is the Skewb. I did use a tutorial to start solving the 3 x 3 puzzles. After that, I started making my own algorithms in the form of a, b, a', but that is all I can do. The algorithms are inefficient, compared to ones used in popular methods, where doing the sequence backwards isn't necessary and that form only works for puzzles with a similar structure to a 3 x 3. I would like to be able to learn how to create algorithms to solve any given puzzle and how to analyze its structure. What do I need to know? Where do I start? Do I need to know group theory or any other form of mathematics (If so, I have a good amount of knowledge until Calculus and know a bit of set theory)? If so, where can I learn or what do I need to learn to be able to understand the subject? etc.

Thank you

WCA
2014GRAY03
Yes, the field of mathematics that you will want to learn is group theory.