• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 35,000+ people from around the world today!

    If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

[Help Thread] Gan 356i discussion / software updates / issues report directly to Gan

Plasmo

Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
6
I am glad that more people discuss with GAN smart cube now.

An option to opt out beginner content in main menu - no plan right now.
Cube doesn't remember rotation when starting a new battle - 2 situations involved: preset the correct position so replay can view from a better angle; or rotation is avaiable in replay. Will report this to tech team.
Save as favourite failed - Is this bug fixed? I cannot save since August. Will confirm with tech team.
Severe interrupted when someone send battle invitation during a battle - will report to tech team.
Other connections problems - can't make a summary to tech team but seems gradually gets better after each update.

Future event: "GIVE ME FIVE" - to celebrate 5th anniversary of GANCUBE. Chance to get a (ROBOT+356i) combo in limited edition.
More details please wait for update.
I got the Give me Five popup and would like to know more about it but I cannot read Chinese. Can someone elaborate?
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2018
Messages
3
I got my Gan356i and it was amazing first few days. After that 1v1 battle mod started lagging insanely. And now i can't even scramble because it takes more than few seconds to load the rest of the scramble, so i usually have like 2 seconds of ispection. Also I got like 4 times in a row DNF on 1v1 battle mod, which isn't true. I can clearly see the time after i finish.
Is there going to be any huge update, I mean it looks like Gan wanted just to take money as fast as they can.
Translation is bad also.
Are there servers in Europe? Because that might be the real problem.
 

z3non

Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
15
At least logging in with account in cubestation app works.
When I start shaking for connection nothing happens in cubestation app. Sometimes there pops up a message "Cubestation crashed" but I can exit the message and am actually still in the app. This message displays a lot. Even when I didn't start cubestation app. Tried in chrome https://bluetooth.cubing.net/ and hit connect -> I can see GAN device .... click pairing..... again message "Cubestation app crashed". Have Aquaris X Pro with Android 7.1.1
Maybe I'll try connecting with PC and an bluetooth adapter... is a 4.0 blutooth adapter okay with GAN 356i??? Can I emulate the cubestation app somehow on my PC?? TIA for help...
An upcoming windows app would be cool.

---EDIT--
After 2 hours I managed to connect the cube with cubestation app but it really often crashes. :/
Someone managed to use the cube with PC + some browser app for training / recording of solves?? Any tips/ help?? I don't have bluetooth adapter yet but it seems web bluetooth only is available with chrome and opera atm right??

--EDIT2--
3rd picture shows a layout bug in the AI teaching section. The retry icon should be able to be hidden away.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

kubesolver

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2019
Messages
25
I really love the battle mode experience so I will probably install the app on some cheap phone that I will use only as my gan356i station.

On my main phone I gave up with a Cube Station because I was constantly getting "The App has crashed" error like z3non (also Android 7.1.1). And not only when using the app but also when the app was closed / inactive which was very annoying.
 

z3non

Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
15
I really love the battle mode experience so I will probably install the app on some cheap phone that I will use only as my gan356i station.

On my main phone I gave up with a Cube Station because I was constantly getting "The App has crashed" error like z3non (also Android 7.1.1). And not only when using the app but also when the app was closed / inactive which was very annoying.
This idea with a really budget phone OR tablet isn't that bad. I'll consider the same solution. Yeah, really strange even when the app is closed often the message pops up "Cubestation crashed". Cubestation is btw the only app with this problem on my entire phone.
 
Last edited:

nonoperez

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2019
Messages
22
I don't know what's the problem again, but DNF bug is here again, tried several days, I thought that was solved....
Probably more cubes sold and servers quite busy, here in Spain cube shops are selling the cube.

There is also the crash app bug....

Come on, this is GAN, a 90$ cube. The thing is I spend more time with my 356x than 356i... really disappointed, also tired of testing.
 

z3non

Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2019
Messages
15
@everybody having problems with crashes with the app on mobile phones:
I just installed cubestation on an fire 7 tablet(9th gen) as an "workaround"(ATM at sale..under 40 bucks) and it works...played ~20 minutes and so far no crashes....

anyway I hope GAN can fix the problems with their app in near future... it should work on any android device!!! Come on!
 

Konsta

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
486
WCA
2008JUKK01
YouTube
Talvikoala
Latest update removed the connect-switch from device management, which used to be my last resort to get my cube connected (which didn't work every time, because I wasn't always able to get inside the settings menu where you change the name of the cube etc), but now that it's gone I'm having even harder times to connect my cube which isn't connecting at the moment. So please bring the connect switch back to that menu, or maybe even the menu before that. I guess it's now coded so that it only appears if the app has some sort of connection with the cube, not very handy. Need some sort of forcing connection option, at least with my cube which often seems like a sleeping cube if you ask the app, no matter how much I shake or do the U - U'-moves on white side. And yes, my cube is fully charged too when this thing happens.
 

Olivertam

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
37
Location
Guangzhou, China
YouTube
UCjeHqEUSBpIfLnNOgVA
Latest update removed the connect-switch from device management, which used to be my last resort to get my cube connected (which didn't work every time, because I wasn't always able to get inside the settings menu where you change the name of the cube etc), but now that it's gone I'm having even harder times to connect my cube which isn't connecting at the moment. So please bring the connect switch back to that menu, or maybe even the menu before that. I guess it's now coded so that it only appears if the app has some sort of connection with the cube, not very handy. Need some sort of forcing connection option, at least with my cube which often seems like a sleeping cube if you ask the app, no matter how much I shake or do the U - U'-moves on white side. And yes, my cube is fully charged too when this thing happens.
Konsta, do you use android or iOS?
I have no idea where the switch is, but I'll forward it to the tech team.
For first connection just go to personal training or online battle to start a game and the app will pop up the interface to require to connect.
For reconnection inside the app, go to setting-my device and shake or U-U' the cube.
 

Konsta

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
486
WCA
2008JUKK01
YouTube
Talvikoala
I'm using android.
And those connecting options won't work for me when this happens, previously only the connect-switch from the "my device" -> "smart cube" window worked, if I was able to get inside, for some reason I wasn't able to get in there sometimes. Now I can get in, but like I said the connect-switch has been removed.
I was able to get my cube working yesterday just before I went to bed, but for example now my cube just won't wake up.
 

Konsta

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
486
WCA
2008JUKK01
YouTube
Talvikoala
Is this button?
No, it's inside the "smart cube", where you can change the name and reset etc.
My cube woke up this time normally by shaking and the button actually is there, but it's not visible when the app is not able to find the cube, which is the problem.
Previously this was the only way I was able to force the connection, even when the cube seemed like it was sleeping.
So the switch button I'm talking about is a ball that moves left and right when you click it, turning the connection off and on.
 

Olivertam

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
37
Location
Guangzhou, China
YouTube
UCjeHqEUSBpIfLnNOgVA
No, it's inside the "smart cube", where you can change the name and reset etc.
My cube woke up this time normally by shaking and the button actually is there, but it's not visible when the app is not able to find the cube, which is the problem.
Previously this was the only way I was able to force the connection, even when the cube seemed like it was sleeping.
So the switch button I'm talking about is a ball that moves left and right when you click it, turning the connection off and on.
Thanks for clarifying, I do see a switch on my iphone but I have no android on hand. It's Saturday now the tech team is off-work. I'll get back to you later.
 

Olivertam

Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2019
Messages
37
Location
Guangzhou, China
YouTube
UCjeHqEUSBpIfLnNOgVA
Konsta, the picture I sent in previous is the way you connect to 356i.
The logic of connecting the cube is that you MUST wake up the cube to connect. And when you wake it up, it will pop up in the interface, and you click "connect". That's it! Now no need to tap the switch inside the "Smart cube".
That means if connection is lost, you had to wake it up by shaking or turning white side.
 

Wish Lin

Member
Joined
Jun 18, 2019
Messages
497
Location
Taipei, Taiwan
WCA
2018LINW02
Have you guys known about 356i Play? We will launch it in a month. It's a bugdet choice of 356i.
Compared to 356i, the i play doesn't have the gyroscope inside in exchange for a longer battery life.

What's your thoughts? Share with me!
Good news! Although most people on this thread probably won’t buy it, I can see this as a great way to expand the Gan 356i’s market, like, someone might buy this and then buy the Gan 356i in the future after seeing its basic abilities.

But the Giiker has a much higher popularity in the market of non-gyroscopic smart cubes currently, so the Gan 356i play need something different in order for the customer to consider choosing it over the Giiker.
 

Konsta

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2009
Messages
486
WCA
2008JUKK01
YouTube
Talvikoala
Konsta, the picture I sent in previous is the way you connect to 356i.
The logic of connecting the cube is that you MUST wake up the cube to connect. And when you wake it up, it will pop up in the interface, and you click "connect". That's it! Now no need to tap the switch inside the "Smart cube".
That means if connection is lost, you had to wake it up by shaking or turning white side.
Yea, I know that's the idea, but the problem is that the app doesn't always recognize that the cube has been shaked.
I can find the cube in phones own bluetooth list after shaking it, but the 356i app just doesn't sense that the cube is active and ready to be connected.
That's why I don't have the connect option available and that's why there should be an option to "force" the connection.
 

nonoperez

Member
Joined
Sep 24, 2019
Messages
22
Have you guys known about 356i Play? We will launch it in a month. It's a bugdet choice of 356i.
Compared to 356i, the i play doesn't have the gyroscope inside in exchange for a longer battery life.

What's your thoughts? Share with me!
If the base is the same as 356i I think it should work well in the market, Giiker is cheaper (I have one) but is not as smooth and solid as 356i. The main problem at the moment is the battle mode outside china, I only play against bots lately, and DNF problem must be solved to give a good experience.

Another improve in software should be having the choice of the color at the top of the cube when playing, I solve the cube with orange at the top and have to turn it to scramble or AI teaching.
 
Top