• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

cube wearing off fast ?

teacher77

I'm new to cubing and I bought a few cubes, including a Weilong GTS which is currently my favorite. However, each time I buy a new cube it's amazing for a week or two and then I find it becomes loose and less stable. I tried relubing and even disassembling, cleaning and lubing, but I still can't get my cubes to feel the way they felt when I bought them.

I searched this forum for answers on this but it's like searching for a needle in a forest.

Sorry if this sounds like obvious but as I said, I'm very new to cubing : I started about 2 months ago.

teacher77

Have you tried tightening it?

Yes. I turned about 3/4 of a turn clockwize on each face. But I admit I didn't try different tensions.

Anyway, could those screws unscrew themselves just by solving the cube ? I assumed it was unlikely but maybe I'm wrong...

unirox13

Re-tensioining is your friend! Take the center caps off of the 3x3 and you'll likely discover a philips head screw. Use a screwdriver and tighten/loosen each screw as seems necessary for that side. A lot of times, the stock lube is put in thick and miscellaneously. After a week or so of solving, that lube gets mixed throughout the cube, making sluggish sides seem a lot faster, and fast sides even faster. Re- tensioning is your best friend. I recommend the (potentially old-school) method of tightening every side down as far as possible. Then, loosen each side a quarter turn of the screw until it reaches your desired speed and feel.

teacher77