• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

Interview with Frank Morris

pjk

Administrator
Staff member
WCA
2007KELL02
SS Competition Results
February 15, 2009 : Interview with Speedsolving.com member Frank Morris : Currently (at the time of this interview) is ranked 14th in the world for 5x5x5 average (1:36.96). He is the former world record holder for 4x4x4 single (2005), and 5x5x5 average and single (2005/2006).

interview-frank.jpg

I am a Food and Beverage Manager within the Red Lion Hotels Corporation. I am responsible for all Bar, Restaurant, and Catering operations at my Hotel.

What is your favorite event, why?
The 5x5 is probably my favorite overall since I can still get pretty good times without having to kill myself with practice.

What made you become interested in solving puzzles?
For as long as I can remember, I was always interested in doing brain teasers of any sort. I liked crossword puzzles and metal disentanglement puzzles, but I had no idea that there were so many different types of sequential movement puzzles out there. I really only knew of the Rubik’s Cube. I had always wanted to solve that cube when I was a kid, but I never owned one. In 2002, I finally got my hands on one to play with, and the addiction took over from there.

What, in your opinion, is your biggest "cubing" accomplishment?
I suppose it should be winning the 5x5 event at WC2005, but I would probably say I am most proud of having a part in getting more people interested in solving the 4x4 and 5x5.

What are your other hobbies?