• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

Guide to Transitioning to 3-Cycle BLD

Noahaha

blindmod
WCA
2012ARTH01
YouTube
Visit Channel
It has occurred to me that there are very few resources available for people who want to take BLD past the Old Pochmann method. I have (for the most part) switched to 3-cycles for corners, and I feel that although I am no expert on the method, I understand the process fairly well. This guide will only address corners, but the same concepts can be applied to edges.

The problem most people have is that the idea of having 378 prepared 3-cycles is terrifying. If you are one of these people, I want you to try as hard as you can to forget that thought. Good. Now you can start learning.

The basis of all 3-style BLD is BH. Most people who have thought about taking their BLD to the next level have gone here:
http://www.speedcubing.com/chris/bhcorners.html
and given up immediately.

Those who are slightly more persistent have reached this tutorial:
http://www.speedsolving.com/forum/showthread.php?12268-BH-Tutorial
and gotten so confused about cyclic shifts and columns cases that they have given up. Let me tell you something. I almost completely use 3-cycles, and I have no idea what commutators are classified as cyclic shifts.

So, many people have gotten very lost in the land of BH and given up very quickly. I was almost one of these people, but I came across this post by Mike Hughey:
http://www.speedsolving.com/forum/showthread.php?11909-Thoughts-about-the-BH-method
You should read the whole thing, but the part that got my attention was: