• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

noob to cubing

mattman

im still kinda new to speedcubing and ive shaved more than a minute off my time by lubing my cube with petroleum jelly and learning some finger tricks now ive gotten my average down to 93.45 seconds but i want to learn a way to solve faster im still using the noob method... the LBL method
the fridrich method seems like it would work but it looks like theres way too many algs to learn...over 60 so im tryin to find another way to do it....can someone tell me another way i can learn to solve a cube?

masterofthebass

Premium Member
WCA
2007COHE01
YouTube
Visit Channel
I just did an avg the other day of LBL method. I could avg around 35 with it. It just takes practice. When you feel like you feel really comfortable with cubing in general, I would start moving to a better method, if you want.

mattman

do you think petr. jelly works for lube... its workin good for me so far but im gonna try silicone spray soon. as soon as i get some. what do you think is better
whats petrus? is it easier than fredrich? im prolly gonna learn some of fredrich. just the things im slow at with LBL.
you play bass? me too.

ExoCorsair

WCA
2007CHOI01
YouTube
Visit Channel
First of all, it's "Fridrich" (or CFOP).

Secondly, I think Petrus is way overrated by slower speedsolvers; lower move counts don't always mean faster times.

Thirdly, Petrus is the system in which you build a 2x2 block, extend it to a 2x2x3 block.

Fourthly, petroleum jelly does work as lubricant; that is how some people lubed cubes 'back in the day'.