• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

4x4x4 edge parity - is there a shorter alg that doesn't preserve corners?

Kabuthunk

YouTube
Visit Channel
Whup, for the title, I meant to put edge-pair locations, not corners... since the parity can be spotted before even starting corners (I'm still doing a beginner method that does corners last).

Ok, first up, I'm still fairly new to cubing, and albeit I wouldn't mind going faster, I'm not currently at the point of wanting to memorize a metric ton of algorithms. Or more specifically, that 15-move algorithm for fixing the parity on a 4x4x4 when one edge pair is flipped over. As of right now, I can solve all other situations (like two corners switched), but that double edge flip I just can't get down. And every single site I've seen only has the algorithm that just... solves the cube from there with the 15 moves. I need less moves, and then I can re-solve the edges and corners later.

Thus... is there a shorter algorithm that will flip that edge, not bothering to preserve corner placements or even edge placements (so long as it doesn't create another edge pair parity :p)? I've read here and there online that apparently the two-corner-switched algorithm (which was ridiculously easy to memorize thankfully) can be used to fixed the edge-pair-flip as well, but try it as I might, once I do the two-corner algorithm and re-place all the corners, that damn edge-pair parity just comes right back again.