ksolve+ v1.0 - general-purpose algorithm finder

Discussion in 'Software Area' started by qqwref, Oct 17, 2013.

Welcome to the Speedsolving.com. You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community of over 30,000 people, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us and we'll help you get started. We look forward to seeing you on the forums!

Already a member? Login to stop seeing this message.
  1. Jakube

    Jakube Member

    790
    4
    Feb 3, 2011
    Austria
    WCA:
    2011KOGL01
    YouTube:
    JakubeBLD
    Are you sure you're in the correct directory. You can navigate with 'cd'.

    But if you still fail calling ksolve, simply use the online version of ksolve+ (http://www.cubing.net/ksolve.js/). I guess it's a bit slower, but not much.
     
  2. G2013

    G2013 Member

    716
    34
    Jul 8, 2014
    In the underground
    WCA:
    2013DIPI01
    Finally!! Thank you so much! Well, I think asking is the best solution.
    r2 U2 r U r2 U' r U r U' r2 U r' U' r2 U2 r2 -Uperm
    U2 r U r' U' r' U' r U r U' r' U' r' U r U' -Antisune
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2014
  3. with Xksolve or WINksolve I meant that their should be a GUI. I personally love the commandline but it is rarer and rarer for a program to ONLY have a commandline. I think one of the reasons why Cube Explorer is used so much is because it DOES have a nice GUI.
     
  4. Robert-Y

    Robert-Y Super Moderator Staff Member

    3,275
    63
    Jan 21, 2009
    England
    WCA:
    2009YAUR01
    YouTube:
    Robert271291
    Are you sure you are in the right directory?
     
  5. IQubic

    IQubic Member

    185
    2
    Nov 10, 2012
    Seattle, WA
    WCA:
    2014CASP01
    How the heck do you write a definition file? How do I tell the program which piece on my puzzle is piece 1 in the code? I tried to follow someone's move, but we numbered the pieces differently. Therefore I got a different result than him.

    -IQubic

    How the heck do these both work??? It's the same exact moves written two different ways. The Def files are different. Not the Same. How does this work???
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 23, 2014
  6. blade740

    blade740 Mack Daddy

    854
    1
    May 29, 2006
    WCA:
    2007NELS01
    YouTube:
    blade740
    The software doesn't know or care which piece is where. Make up a numbering scheme when you define the pieces, then just stick to that numbering scheme when you define the moves.
     
  7. IQubic

    IQubic Member

    185
    2
    Nov 10, 2012
    Seattle, WA
    WCA:
    2014CASP01
    I can't get the program to do God's algorithm. I just can't.
    EDIT: I only get this issue when trying to use a Skewb Def file I created.

    Code:
    Name Skewb
    
    # IQubic made this
    # CENTERS U F R B L D
    # CORNERS ULB URB URF ULF DLB DRB DRF DLF
    # CO is how many clockwise turns to orient correctly
    
    Set CENTERS 6 1
    Set CORNERS 8 3
    
    Solved
    CENTERS
    1 2 3 4 5 6
    CORNERS
    1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
    End
    
    Move F
    CENTERS
    1 3 6 4 5 2
    CORNERS
    1 2 6 4 5 8 7 3
    0 0 1 0 0 1 2 1
    End
    
    Move R
    CENTERS
    1 2 4 6 5 3
    CORNERS
    1 5 3 4 7 6 2 8
    0 1 0 0 1 2 1 0
    End
    
    Move B
    CENTERS
    1 2 3 5 6 4
    CORNERS
    8 2 3 4 5 1 7 6
    1 0 0 0 2 1 0 1
    End
    
    Move L 
    CENTERS
    1 6 3 4 2 5
    CORNERS
    1 2 3 7 4 6 5 8
    0 0 0 1 1 0 1 2
    End
    
    EDIT 2: I can NOT get Ksolve+ to use my custom Skewb definition. It does not matter what I put a the scramble.
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2014
  8. Jakube

    Jakube Member

    790
    4
    Feb 3, 2011
    Austria
    WCA:
    2011KOGL01
    YouTube:
    JakubeBLD
    Please describe more precisely what you want and what you tried. Is there any error messages?

    I took your def file and it works on my laptop. I can calculate God's algorithm, solve random states, ...


    edit: I played a little bit more with the def file. The computation of God's algorithm produces other numbers than the numbers of http://www.jaapsch.net/puzzles/skewb.htm. At least for depth > 5. Strange, I checked the moves definitions and they seem to be correct. (I think you mixed U with U', F with F', and so on, but it should work nevertheless). I'm confused.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 23, 2014
  9. qqwref

    qqwref Member

    7,833
    22
    Dec 18, 2007
    a <script> tag near you
    WCA:
    2006GOTT01
    YouTube:
    qqwref2
    That's very odd. Do other Skewb def files give your numbers, or Jaap's numbers, or something entirely different?
     
  10. Robert-Y

    Robert-Y Super Moderator Staff Member

    3,275
    63
    Jan 21, 2009
    England
    WCA:
    2009YAUR01
    YouTube:
    Robert271291
    I might have figured it out. Create a scramble file that is equivalent to the scramble "y2". Because this is not defined as solved state, ksolve will attempt to do moves in order to achieve an effect equivalent to y2.

    Which leads to this question: Does this problem occur anyway with a fixed corner notation def file? I should hope not.
     
  11. Ranzha

    Ranzha Friendly, Neighbourhoodly Staff Member

    This is what I was going to say.
    Some 12-move antipodes are the equivalent to y2. Because of this, for generating God's Algorithm tables, FCN is the way to go.
     
  12. qqwref

    qqwref Member

    7,833
    22
    Dec 18, 2007
    a <script> tag near you
    WCA:
    2006GOTT01
    YouTube:
    qqwref2
    Oh, yeah, good point there Robert. Ksolve+ doesn't use our concept of a rotation, it just checks to see what is generated by the moves you defined. So if the same position can show up in more than one orientation, they will both be in the God's Algorithm table. IQubic fixed the U center, but each center has 2 orientations, so each position could show up in 2 ways.

    It's surprising that y2 takes 12 moves, though. I would've expected a shorter sequence.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014
  13. IQubic

    IQubic Member

    185
    2
    Nov 10, 2012
    Seattle, WA
    WCA:
    2014CASP01
    Ksolve Plus Error.PNG
    That is the error I get. This error occurs with any scramble.
    In the future I will be generating speedsolving alg with this.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014
  14. cubizh

    cubizh Super Moderator Staff Member

    596
    25
    Oct 2, 2011
    Portugal
    WCA:
    2014GOME07
    YouTube:
    cubizh
    You are using an outdated version of ksolve+ then.
    If you read back a couple of pages on this thread, that is a common error derived from a bug in the code and there's a simple way to fix it.
    If you can't change code yourself, just make sure there's no empty lines on the scramble and definition file.
    Depending on what code you used, you should ask its maintainer to fix this silly issue, or just fix it yourself and recompile.
     
  15. IQubic

    IQubic Member

    185
    2
    Nov 10, 2012
    Seattle, WA
    WCA:
    2014CASP01
    I fixed the code, but still get this error. I also removed the empty lines at the end. I still get the error.
     
  16. cubizh

    cubizh Super Moderator Staff Member

    596
    25
    Oct 2, 2011
    Portugal
    WCA:
    2014GOME07
    YouTube:
    cubizh
  17. IQubic

    IQubic Member

    185
    2
    Nov 10, 2012
    Seattle, WA
    WCA:
    2014CASP01
    How does one compile the code? The online version does not work for me. The big go button does nothing for me.
     
  18. mark49152

    mark49152 Premium Member

    3,636
    1,439
    Oct 29, 2012
    UK
    WCA:
    2015RIVE05
    YouTube:
    mark49152
    I get the same error using the Windows binary from github. It also reports its version as 1.0 not 1.3. COuld someone who has already rebuilt it please update the binary? It would save me the effort of installing whatever I would need to recompile it myself. Thanks!
     
  19. mark49152

    mark49152 Premium Member

    3,636
    1,439
    Oct 29, 2012
    UK
    WCA:
    2015RIVE05
    YouTube:
    mark49152
    Double post, because I have another question. I am trying to use ksolve+ as an F2L solver. I have added the following to the standard 3x3 defs file:-

    Code:
    Ignore
    CORNERS
    1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0
    1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0
    EDGES
    1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
    End
    
    When I give it a scramble R U R' U', I would expect the solutions to include R' F R F', U2 R U2 R', etc., but that's not the case. It only gives solutions that fully solve the cube. It appears my "ignore" is being ignored. Can anyone help?

    I am using the Javascript version at http://www.cubing.net/ksolve.js/ since I cannot get the Windows .exe to work.
     
  20. Jakube

    Jakube Member

    790
    4
    Feb 3, 2011
    Austria
    WCA:
    2011KOGL01
    YouTube:
    JakubeBLD
    ad windows version: Have you tried downloading the zip (containing an exe) from qqref's original post. This version works fine on my laptop (Win 7).

    ad F2L-Solver: In the scramble you have to ignore the last layer pieces with a ?. E.G. if your scramble is 1 3 7 9 2 6 ... and you want to ignore the last layer, write ? ? 7 9 ? 6 ...

    In the definition file you're only specifying the pieces, which may be ignored. To really ignore them, write ?s.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2014

Share This Page