• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

    Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

    If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

ksolve+ v1.0 - general-purpose algorithm finder

G2013

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2014
Messages
831
Location
the planet
WCA
2013DIPI01
YouTube
Visit Channel
Are you sure you're in the correct directory. You can navigate with 'cd'.

But if you still fail calling ksolve, simply use the online version of ksolve+ (http://www.cubing.net/ksolve.js/). I guess it's a bit slower, but not much.
Finally!! Thank you so much! Well, I think asking is the best solution.
r2 U2 r U r2 U' r U r U' r2 U r' U' r2 U2 r2 -Uperm
U2 r U r' U' r' U' r U r U' r' U' r' U r U' -Antisune
 
Last edited:

AvGalen

Premium Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
6,857
Location
Rotterdam (actually Capelle aan den IJssel), the N
WCA
2006GALE01
YouTube
Visit Channel
ksolve+ *is* for Windows. There's a Linux version too but obviously if you are on Windows you shouldn't use that one. The thing is, there's no GUI, so you can't just click around on a window to set stuff up. Writing a GUI is tricky and can take a lot of time, so you can imagine why I didn't feel like doing it. If someone wants to give it a shot, go ahead...
with Xksolve or WINksolve I meant that their should be a GUI. I personally love the commandline but it is rarer and rarer for a program to ONLY have a commandline. I think one of the reasons why Cube Explorer is used so much is because it DOES have a nice GUI.
 

IQubic

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
188
Location
Seattle, WA
WCA
2014CASP01
How the heck do you write a definition file? How do I tell the program which piece on my puzzle is piece 1 in the code? I tried to follow someone's move, but we numbered the pieces differently. Therefore I got a different result than him.

-IQubic

Fixed Corner Notation, WCA-style:
Code:
# Skewb ksolve+ definition file (tested on v1.3 from http://mzrg.com/rubik/ksolve+/)
#
# Notation is Fixed Corner Notation (FCN) as defined here: 
# https://www.worldcubeassociation.org/regulations/#12h
#
# Ranzha
#
# centres U F R D B L
# corners UFR, UBR, UBL, UFL, DFR, DBR, DBL, DFL
# moves U R L B

Name Skewb
Set corners 8 3
Set centres 6 1
Solved
corners
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
centres
1 2 3 4 5 6
End
Move U
corners
1 7 3 2 5 6 4 8
0 2 1 2 0 0 2 0
centres
5 2 3 4 6 1
End
Move R
corners
1 5 3 4 7 6 2 8
0 2 0 0 2 1 2 0
centres
1 2 4 5 3 6
End
Move L
corners
1 2 3 7 4 6 5 8
0 0 0 2 2 0 2 1
centres
1 6 3 2 5 4
End
Move B
corners
1 2 6 4 5 8 7 3
0 0 2 0 0 2 1 2
centres
1 2 3 6 4 5
End

Aww yea, I knew this would come in handy

Code:
# Skewb ksolve+ definition file (tested on v1.3 from http://mzrg.com/rubik/ksolve+/)
#
# Notation is FCN as defined here; 
# http://meep.cubing.net/skewb-fcn.html
#
# Kirjava is cool
#
# CORNERS UFL, UBL, UBR, DFR, DFL, DBL, DBR
# CENTRES U F L B R D
# MOVES U D L R

Name Skewb
Set CORNERS 7 3
Set CENTRES 6 1
Solved
CORNERS
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
CENTRES
1 2 3 4 5 6
End
Move R
CORNERS
1 2 4 6 5 3 7
0 0 2 2 0 2 1
CENTRES
1 2 3 5 6 4
End
Move L
CORNERS
6 2 3 1 5 4 7
2 0 0 2 1 2 0
CENTRES
1 3 6 4 5 2
End
Move U
CORNERS
3 2 6 4 5 1 7
2 1 2 0 0 2 0
CENTRES
4 2 1 3 5 6
End
Move D
CORNERS
1 7 3 4 2 6 5
0 2 0 0 2 1 2
CENTRES
1 2 4 6 5 3
End

rob helped fix a mistake

How the heck do these both work??? It's the same exact moves written two different ways. The Def files are different. Not the Same. How does this work???
 
Last edited by a moderator:

blade740

Mack Daddy
Joined
May 29, 2006
Messages
851
WCA
2007NELS01
YouTube
Visit Channel
How the heck do you write a definition file? How do I tell the program which piece on my puzzle is piece 1 in the code? I tried to follow someone's move, but we numbered the pieces differently. Therefore I got a different result than him.

-IQubic

The software doesn't know or care which piece is where. Make up a numbering scheme when you define the pieces, then just stick to that numbering scheme when you define the moves.
 

IQubic

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
188
Location
Seattle, WA
WCA
2014CASP01
I can't get the program to do God's algorithm. I just can't.
EDIT: I only get this issue when trying to use a Skewb Def file I created.

Code:
Name Skewb

# IQubic made this
# CENTERS U F R B L D
# CORNERS ULB URB URF ULF DLB DRB DRF DLF
# CO is how many clockwise turns to orient correctly

Set CENTERS 6 1
Set CORNERS 8 3

Solved
CENTERS
1 2 3 4 5 6
CORNERS
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
End

Move F
CENTERS
1 3 6 4 5 2
CORNERS
1 2 6 4 5 8 7 3
0 0 1 0 0 1 2 1
End

Move R
CENTERS
1 2 4 6 5 3
CORNERS
1 5 3 4 7 6 2 8
0 1 0 0 1 2 1 0
End

Move B
CENTERS
1 2 3 5 6 4
CORNERS
8 2 3 4 5 1 7 6
1 0 0 0 2 1 0 1
End

Move L 
CENTERS
1 6 3 4 2 5
CORNERS
1 2 3 7 4 6 5 8
0 0 0 1 1 0 1 2
End

EDIT 2: I can NOT get Ksolve+ to use my custom Skewb definition. It does not matter what I put a the scramble.
 
Last edited:

Jakube

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
790
Location
Austria
WCA
2011KOGL01
YouTube
Visit Channel
I can't get the program to do God's algorithm. I just can't.
EDIT: I only get this issue when trying to use a Skewb Def file I created.

Code:
Name Skewb

# IQubic made this
# CENTERS U F R B L D
# CORNERS ULB URB URF ULF DLB DRB DRF DLF
# CO is how many clockwise turns to orient correctly

Set CENTERS 6 1
Set CORNERS 8 3

Solved
CENTERS
1 2 3 4 5 6
CORNERS
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
End

Move F
CENTERS
1 3 6 4 5 2
CORNERS
1 2 6 4 5 8 7 3
0 0 1 0 0 1 2 1
End

Move R
CENTERS
1 2 4 6 5 3
CORNERS
1 5 3 4 7 6 2 8
0 1 0 0 1 2 1 0
End

Move B
CENTERS
1 2 3 5 6 4
CORNERS
8 2 3 4 5 1 7 6
1 0 0 0 2 1 0 1
End

Move L 
CENTERS
1 6 3 4 2 5
CORNERS
1 2 3 7 4 6 5 8
0 0 0 1 1 0 1 2
End

EDIT 2: I can NOT get Ksolve+ to use my custom Skewb definition. It does not matter what I put a the scramble.

Please describe more precisely what you want and what you tried. Is there any error messages?

I took your def file and it works on my laptop. I can calculate God's algorithm, solve random states, ...


edit: I played a little bit more with the def file. The computation of God's algorithm produces other numbers than the numbers of http://www.jaapsch.net/puzzles/skewb.htm. At least for depth > 5. Strange, I checked the moves definitions and they seem to be correct. (I think you mixed U with U', F with F', and so on, but it should work nevertheless). I'm confused.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Robert-Y

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
3,289
Location
England
WCA
2009YAUR01
YouTube
Visit Channel
I might have figured it out. Create a scramble file that is equivalent to the scramble "y2". Because this is not defined as solved state, ksolve will attempt to do moves in order to achieve an effect equivalent to y2.

Which leads to this question: Does this problem occur anyway with a fixed corner notation def file? I should hope not.
 

Ranzha

Friendly, Neighbourhoodly
Joined
Jul 24, 2009
Messages
2,551
Location
Reno, Nevada, United States
WCA
2009HARN01
YouTube
Visit Channel
I might have figured it out. Create a scramble file that is equivalent to the scramble "y2". Because this is not defined as solved state, ksolve will attempt to do moves in order to achieve an effect equivalent to y2.

Which leads to this question: Does this problem occur anyway with a fixed corner notation def file? I should hope not.

This is what I was going to say.
Some 12-move antipodes are the equivalent to y2. Because of this, for generating God's Algorithm tables, FCN is the way to go.
 

qqwref

Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2007
Messages
7,834
Location
a <script> tag near you
WCA
2006GOTT01
YouTube
Visit Channel
Oh, yeah, good point there Robert. Ksolve+ doesn't use our concept of a rotation, it just checks to see what is generated by the moves you defined. So if the same position can show up in more than one orientation, they will both be in the God's Algorithm table. IQubic fixed the U center, but each center has 2 orientations, so each position could show up in 2 ways.

It's surprising that y2 takes 12 moves, though. I would've expected a shorter sequence.
 
Last edited:

IQubic

Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
188
Location
Seattle, WA
WCA
2014CASP01
Ksolve Plus Error.PNG
That is the error I get. This error occurs with any scramble.
In the future I will be generating speedsolving alg with this.
 
Last edited:

cubizh

Member
Joined
Oct 2, 2011
Messages
602
Location
Portugal
WCA
2014GOME07
YouTube
Visit Channel
View attachment 4644
That is the error I get. This error occurs with any scramble.
In the future I will be generating speedsolving alg with this.
You are using an outdated version of ksolve+ then.
If you read back a couple of pages on this thread, that is a common error derived from a bug in the code and there's a simple way to fix it.
If you can't change code yourself, just make sure there's no empty lines on the scramble and definition file.
Depending on what code you used, you should ask its maintainer to fix this silly issue, or just fix it yourself and recompile.
 

mark49152

Premium Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
4,719
Location
UK
WCA
2015RIVE05
YouTube
Visit Channel
Double post, because I have another question. I am trying to use ksolve+ as an F2L solver. I have added the following to the standard 3x3 defs file:-

Code:
Ignore
CORNERS
1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0
1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0
EDGES
1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
End

When I give it a scramble R U R' U', I would expect the solutions to include R' F R F', U2 R U2 R', etc., but that's not the case. It only gives solutions that fully solve the cube. It appears my "ignore" is being ignored. Can anyone help?

I am using the Javascript version at http://www.cubing.net/ksolve.js/ since I cannot get the Windows .exe to work.
 

Jakube

Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
790
Location
Austria
WCA
2011KOGL01
YouTube
Visit Channel
ad windows version: Have you tried downloading the zip (containing an exe) from qqref's original post. This version works fine on my laptop (Win 7).

ad F2L-Solver: In the scramble you have to ignore the last layer pieces with a ?. E.G. if your scramble is 1 3 7 9 2 6 ... and you want to ignore the last layer, write ? ? 7 9 ? 6 ...

In the definition file you're only specifying the pieces, which may be ignored. To really ignore them, write ?s.
 
Last edited:
Top