• Welcome to the Speedsolving.com, home of the web's largest puzzle community!
    You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to join discussions and access our other features.

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community of 40,000+ people from around the world today!

If you are already a member, simply login to hide this message and begin participating in the community!

Magnets Discussion and Help thread

One Wheel

WCA
2016BAIR04
Hi guys how would I know if the polarity of the magnets are correct? I just watched some guides today , and I'm just anxious about this part...

btw I'm gonna magnetize Valk with N42 magnets sooner or later...
(total newbie to magcubing world.)

Just place one magnet, say, in an edge, and then hold the corner next to the edge to place the magnet in the corner. Then to do the next edge use the corner as your template, etc.

guysensei1

WCA
2014WENW01
Need some physics help here,

If I was magnetising a 5x5, I would put 2 magnets in each wing, one facing the corner and one facing the midge. My question is, in theory, does it matter if the magnets in the wing repel or attract each other? (ie, does one give a stronger attraction in the end product than another?)

xyzzy

Need some physics help here,

If I was magnetising a 5x5, I would put 2 magnets in each wing, one facing the corner and one facing the midge. My question is, in theory, does it matter if the magnets in the wing repel or attract each other? (ie, does one give a stronger attraction in the end product than another?)

If they attract, then you get a very slightly stronger attraction in the end product, because now you have the wing-corner magnets also attracting the wing-midge magnets. (idk how to explain this well, so have this crude ASCII art diagram)

Code:
  corner   wing   midge   wing    corner

|      @|@     @|@     @|@     @|@      |
       ^ ^       ^
   these two     |
   will attract  |